Site Sponsors

Thread: Poor man's Nocti (GF1)

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Poor man's Nocti (GF1)

As a hobbyist, I tried the Nikkor 50/1.2 MF lens on the GF1.

Results are very promising from F1.4 and on. With the smallest light source, using GF1's ability to go up to 800 ISO without much problems, I think I may use this setup for street photography as well.

It works like a 100mm lens, which means I may stay far from the subject, which in some cases may be an advantage. ( although mostly not!)

Next trial will be the 35/1.4 AI-S, but from longggg ago, I remember that it's a very poor lens up to F2.8. We'll see.

Tomorrow I will try to post some street photos taken with the 50mm.

Seyhun
    H3DII-31, 5DII, M8, NEX-3 and Camera collection
    http://seyhun.com
    Facebook Page

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Re: Poor man's Nocti (GF1)

I will mount my Canon LTM 50/1,2 as soon as I get the adapter...
    "You live and learn; at any rate you live" (Douglas Adams)

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Seyhun,

This (50/1.2) is not all that great on the m4/3rds. For reasons I do not understand, while it works fabulously (wide open) even on APS-C Nikon cams, I do not like it on my G1. I tried it once and gave up.

Let us see some pics and if it works for you. I will be most interested to see wide open snaps.

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Here are 2 samples. I think both were taken with F1.4. ISO was 500 and 640 if I'm not mistaken.
    Tonight I will try the Summicron 35mm, and see what happens. The 50/1.2 is not going to be my favorite lens on GF-1 either.

Car photo processes with Silkypix, the street shot with PSE6. No major processing in both cases. Not even WB.

Finally, I couldn't resist posting one photo from the Bosphorus, taken with the kit lens. IMO, GF1 has the Leica look to some extent, and I like that.

Seyhun
    Facebook Page

MannyGS

s.agar,