The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Christmas Decorations G1 with 20 1.7

lmr

Christmas Decorations... fun

Took them this morning. Fun Camera & Lens...

Enjoy...

Do not mind the old Title... my bad... just join in & add your pictures taken with m43.

Robert.

Last edited:

vincechu

Re: Christmas Decorations... fun

Took them this morning. Fun Camera & Lens...

Enjoy...

Do not mind the old Title... my bad... just join in & add your pictures taken with m43.

Robert.
Hi Robert,

I really like your photos above have blurred backgrounds and focus on the decorations.

I'm a newbie to photography (less than a month) and I've been trying to experiment with getting blurred backgrounds (think this is called bokeh) in my photos like you've done in your shots.

I have a Panasonic G1 with the 14-45mm kit lens and haven't had any luck, I've only managed to do this once by using manual focus and another time using the A mode (aperture) by luck. If possible could you give me some tips?

Many thanks,

Vince

Amin

Hi Vince, just set the lens to 45mm (full telephoto) and in 'A' mode set the f-stop to f/5.6. Then get close to your subject and make sure the background that you want to blur is a decent distance away, not too close to the subject. That will get you the blur you're after.

lmr

Sorry did not reply earlier...

Yes... do what Amin suggested... (Thank U Amin)
or...
Get the 20mm/1.7 or the 45mm macro... they tend to have the bokeh effect you are after.

Of course if you stick a Leica lens to the G1, you will get the smoooooth bokeh, selective focus (Shallow DOF) & 3D effect.

Thank you all for looking...

Robert.