Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: E-P1 doesn't AF in Manual Mode

  1. #1
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    E-P1 doesn't AF in Manual Mode

    Hi,

    I've just received my E-P1 with the 17mm and I've found out something weird. It won't auto focus when the camera is set to Manual Mode, Priority Mode or Aperture Mode and I select C-AF or S-AF. It's really weird because when I set it to Auto Mode, Art or Scene the AF works perfectly. Does this sound familiar to anyone?


    Rafa

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: E-P1 doesn't AF in Manual Mode

    What mode have you set for the AE/AF lock button? Could the camera be looking for you to focus using that button? However this doesn't explain P mode.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 doesn't AF in Manual Mode

    I had everything configured the way I like it but I just decided to resolve this the fastest way...I've reseted all settings to the camera's originals. The AF now works on Manual Mode...BTW, I'm loving the little 17mm! (too bad the weather is so awefull here in Portugal).

  4. #4
    Subscriber Member Streetshooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,431
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: E-P1 doesn't AF in Manual Mode

    Rafa,
    It shouldn't matter what exposure mode you are in.
    Check your AF settings. Maybe you are in MF.
    I have the AF to the button with the 17 & finder and on the shutter without a finder.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 doesn't AF in Manual Mode

    Sorry, guys. My post was not very clear. AF now works on all modes. I simply reseted the camera back to it's factory settings.

  6. #6
    Subscriber Member Streetshooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,431
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: E-P1 doesn't AF in Manual Mode

    Well, that's good news Rafa...but how did you have it set to get it to misbehave like that....?

  7. #7
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 doesn't AF in Manual Mode

    I don't really know. I've bought it from Mike Hatam, so it had his configuration...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •