Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: GF1 Raw Converters

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    180
    Post Thanks / Like

    GF1 Raw Converters

    I was wondering what most are using for this. It seems like CS4 will correct the geometry of the lense in the raw conversions while capture one will not. Wondering what others are using for these wonderful raw files.
    thanks

  2. #2
    Member jcmarney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    83
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: GF1 Raw Converters

    Lightroom 3 Beta, for now. Big improvement over LR2 for chroma noise reduction...

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    North Carolina western foothills
    Posts
    1,860
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: GF1 Raw Converters

    I use Lightroom 2.6 for my current work. I occasionally add some to my LR 3.0 beta library, but know that it might not port over when the final version comes out--plus my print module does not function in LR3.0 beta.

    I've used LR since 1.0 beta and it does well for my workflow. I did not upgrade to PSCS4 this time--as I have since I started with PS3 (not PSCS3 LOL) becaue LR is now so capable and flexible. From LR 2.6 I can do round trips to CS3 without any issue for further processing--if needed (I do frame my online gallery with an action of mine in PS). I may--or may not buy PSCS5 but plan on upgrading my LR to 3.0 when the final version is available.

    Diane

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,931
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: GF1 Raw Converters

    Lightroom 2.6.

    I will upgrade to Lightroom 3 when it ships (and upgrade my computer system at the same time, that's going to be an expensive month!).

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    180
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: GF1 Raw Converters

    Ill give it a try. been going between cs4 and capture one. seem to lean toward capture one. going to give lightroom a try.
    thanks guys

  6. #6
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: GF1 Raw Converters

    I'm using C1 and loving it!
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    180
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: GF1 Raw Converters

    Thanks jack. do you know if C1 does the geometry correction?

  8. #8
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: GF1 Raw Converters

    Yes and no. It doesn't have any for the Panny pre-built in the database, but it does allow you to create your own corrections manually and save them as presets. You can save distortion, sharpness falloff and light falloff settings with a distinct name, like "Panny 14-45 at 30mm".
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  9. #9
    Senior Member Show Performance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    851
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    5

    Re: GF1 Raw Converters

    Good ol' CS4 and Adobe Raw Converter.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Istanbul/Turkey
    Posts
    339
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    4

    Re: GF1 Raw Converters

    I think C1 makes better JPGs than the original software supplied by Panasonic.
    H3DII-31, 5DII, M8, NEX-3 and Camera collection
    http://seyhun.com
    Facebook Page

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •