Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: GF1 monitor help

  1. #1
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    GF1 monitor help

    Hi,

    I just got my GF1 and as I'm testing it I cannot seem to find a way for the monitor/lcd to display the changes I make on iso, shutter, aperture. I can dial up or down any of these settings but the image on the monitor/lcd doesn't get any darker/lighter. Of course when I take the picture the changes are reflected there, but I want to be able to see them as I change the settings. I was checking out the manual but I didn't see anything there.

  2. #2
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: GF1 monitor help

    As far as I know, the monitor displays a automatically brightness compensated view and does not show the results of exposure setting changes. The closest to seeing the changes is if you display the histogram.
    Terry any other settings you can think of?
    -bob

  3. #3
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: GF1 monitor help

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob View Post
    As far as I know, the monitor displays a automatically brightness compensated view and does not show the results of exposure setting changes. The closest to seeing the changes is if you display the histogram.
    Terry any other settings you can think of?
    -bob
    Thanks, Bob. Do you know if there is anyway around this? I was used to the EP1, which does this.

    BTW, does anyone know if the Sony's NEX cameras DO reflect the changes on the LCD?

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: GF1 monitor help

    Yes, there is a preview button that needs to be used. The button on the bottom right will stop down the camera and show a preview. Also, combine that button with the display button and you can see the effect of your exposures. The preview button can be customized so that you either hold it down to see the effect and on release it goes back to normal view or use the preview lock feature so you don't have to hold the button.

    There has been much discussion about the fact that these cameras don't show you exactly what you will get on the LCD. There have been changes in this behavior with the G2.

    This is a case where I think you need to go to the manual and read about it and then play with it at the same time to understand how it works.

    Sony NEX does show what you want...but all is not perfect in the world. When you apply exposure compensation on the Sony you lose the live histogram.

  5. #5
    Administrator Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Prescott, Arizona
    Posts
    4,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    367

    Re: GF1 monitor help

    Yup, I just pulled out the camera.
    In Custom functions, set preview mode to preview hold, then press the preview/delete button, then the display button toggles the wysiwyg mode on and off.
    Not real convenient if that is what you want to do, OTOH, most viewfinders show you view, not the effects of exposure.
    -bob
    Last edited by Bob; 29th August 2010 at 04:35.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •