Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Does GF1 G1 have fixed pattern noise like GH1?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    220
    Post Thanks / Like

    Does GF1 G1 have fixed pattern noise like GH1?

    I love my GH1, especially the video, but its a love hate relationship. Pictures are fantastic but the fixed pattern noise in underexposed areas/shadows just plain sucks. Even when I make sure i expose correctly it will pop up in some small area within the picture. It has become the one main factor that turns a great shot into a not so great shot.

    What I'd like to know is does the GF1 or older G1 suffer from this fixed pattern noise also? I am seriously considering getting one of the two just for cleaner pictures because i have already invested in M4/3 glass and it is a heck of alot cheaper than going canon or nikon. I would much rather grain nose than FPNoise. Leaning towards the GF1 for travel size and video. What are your thoughts?

    Is there a program that will turn the FPN to grain noise?

    cheers.

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Vivek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    13,603
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Does GF1 G1 have fixed pattern noise like GH1?

    The G1, when it is hacked for IR, is truly fantastic (all the m4/3rds cams barring the GH-1 use the same sensor)!

    I am waiting for the G3. If nothing shows up with some improvements within a reasonable time frame, I am quitting this format/mount altogether.

  3. #3
    Senior Member pellicle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southport, Australia
    Posts
    1,429
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Does GF1 G1 have fixed pattern noise like GH1?

    Hi

    Quote Originally Posted by Vivek View Post
    I am waiting for the G3. If nothing shows up with some improvements within a reasonable time frame, I am quitting this format/mount altogether.
    seems harsh ... I'd be pleased enough with some better (and better priced) lens options. I'm comfortable enough with the the G1 and myself don't find it a limit significantly. I would however like some better and more integrated MF lenses. For instance I would like to see some of the Cosina types of things in m4/3 and have integrated iris (meaning I can focus wide up and have it stop down on take just like the 4/3 lenses do and cameras have done since the 70's)

    Actually I wouldn't mind some better AF lenses too, but I have this suspicion that its not possible given the system.

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Vivek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    13,603
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Does GF1 G1 have fixed pattern noise like GH1?

    Not harsh at all. Cosina coming into play is a welcome addition but without significance progress on the senor related issues, these endless varieties (both Pana and Oly) of various colored models being churned out is not a good sign.

    We still have not seen a decent sized flash with a swivel head for the m4/3rds.

    The 3D lens, Pellicle, could be an AF version and Pana could claim to be the producer of the first auto focus 3D lens!

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Michiel Schierbeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Amsterdam/Normandy
    Posts
    4,055
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    762

    Re: Does GF1 G1 have fixed pattern noise like GH1?

    Could the new 16 million sensor for the upcoming GH2 be an interesting and welcome development?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    220
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Does GF1 G1 have fixed pattern noise like GH1?

    good discussion.

    am i cursed with this GH1 of mine? Vivek, so i can assume the same IQ from both the G1 and GF1? If so I may just go with a GF1 if there is no added benefit from the G1? Silly question but with the IR conversion, does that mean I loose the ability to shoot colour?

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Vivek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    13,603
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Does GF1 G1 have fixed pattern noise like GH1?

    http://forum.getdpi.com/forum/showthread.php?t=19323

    I am watching what might come out of GH-2.

    If G1 to G2 is any sign, the number change may not do anything dramatically different except shifting the SD card slot around and adding a touch scream.

    Pixel increase within a confined area- would that do anything for DR improvement? No.

    Would Pana fix the "starry" sensor output? That is the key issue I am interested in more than a global shutter.

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Vivek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    13,603
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Does GF1 G1 have fixed pattern noise like GH1?

    Quote Originally Posted by MRfanny View Post
    good discussion.

    am i cursed with this GH1 of mine? Vivek, so i can assume the same IQ from both the G1 and GF1? If so I may just go with a GF1 if there is no added benefit from the G1? Silly question but with the IR conversion, does that mean I loose the ability to shoot colour?
    MRfanny, I have not seen anything better or worse regarding the G1, etc in terms of images quality, particularly the ones from IR conversion.

    Do you lose the ability to shoot colour? You can shoot false colour IR which is mostly expressed in Blue and Red channels. B&W or monochrome images look better.

  9. #9
    Member kwalsh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    147
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Does GF1 G1 have fixed pattern noise like GH1?

    Two things

    - No fixed pattern noise in G1, but more noise total and less DR (see DXOMark)

    - If you aren't already using it, try the LR3 trial download. It for many cameras does a very good job with fixed pattern noise. I don't have a GH1 to try though.

    Ken

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    220
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Does GF1 G1 have fixed pattern noise like GH1?

    thanks Ken, I can live with noise just not the hatched fixed pattern noise. That DXOmark is a cool resource.

    Will have a look into LR3. Just had a quick play with topaz Denoise 5 and it seems to work well for subtle banding but when trying to get rid of heavy banding in the shadows and background the image looks quite artificial, plastic, especially on skin. I might not be using it correctly though.

    Can someone with a GF1 chime in please.

    Thanks.

  11. #11
    Senior Member pellicle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southport, Australia
    Posts
    1,429
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Does GF1 G1 have fixed pattern noise like GH1?

    Hi

    Quote Originally Posted by Vivek View Post
    We still have not seen a decent sized flash with a swivel head for the m4/3rds.
    that's a good point ... but its not where I am personally.

    The 3D lens, Pellicle, could be an AF version and Pana could claim to be the producer of the first auto focus 3D lens!
    indeed ... and I have been considering that one (a friend has a 3D screen). It is rather a bit of a toy for me however. Perhaps things will change in the future.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •