Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Using the E-PL1

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Berkshires, MA
    Posts
    262
    Post Thanks / Like

    Using the E-PL1

    I'm trying to familiarize myself with the E-PL1, which I'm considering as a somewhat inexpensive backup camera to my E-P1.
    I shoot almost exclusively in aperture priority mode, and use exposure compensation frequently, a cinch on the E-P1. How easy is this to do on the E-PL1, with it's lack of control dial?
    Should I be looking at the E-P2, or another E-P1?
    Shaun O'Boyle
    new.oboylephoto.com

  2. #2
    330toSRT8
    Guest

    Re: Using the E-PL1

    I only have the E-PL1 and have never used the P1 or P2. On the PL-1, exposure compensation is immediately accessible as a button near the LCD, then you have to repeatedly push the left or right buttons to adjust as necessary. This is probably not as quick as a dial. Perhaps you're better off waiting for a P3.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    119
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Using the E-PL1

    It's easy, but takes a few button-pushes too many. The process is anything but elegant or fluid. If you're coming from an E-P1, trust me, it's enough to kind of tick you off sometimes.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Berkshires, MA
    Posts
    262
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Using the E-PL1

    How do you change aperture on the E-PL1?
    Shaun O'Boyle
    new.oboylephoto.com

  5. #5
    Member Winkel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    61
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Using the E-PL1

    Quote Originally Posted by soboyle View Post
    How do you change aperture on the E-PL1?
    Changing the aperture is linked with altering the exposure compensation. In A mode you press the top button (of the circular button pad) to allow access to the aperture and exposure compensation. Aperture is altered via the top and bottom buttons; exposure control is altered via the left and right buttons.

    A dial or thumb wheel is a more efficient implementation but the E-PL1 method is not much slower.

    Goodluck!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    71
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Using the E-PL1

    I actually prefer the EPL1 to my EP2, I was always knocking the EP2 dial, once familiar with the EPL1 I can make changes pretty much just as quick

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Berkshires, MA
    Posts
    262
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Using the E-PL1

    Looks like I'll get a chance to see for myself, since I just ordered the E-PL2 kit.
    Thanks
    Shaun O'Boyle
    new.oboylephoto.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •