Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Olympus art filter question

  1. #1
    luznoi
    Guest

    Olympus art filter question

    When using the filter mode, does one have control over camera settings? Specifically the ISO, aperture and shutter speed?

  2. #2
    luznoi
    Guest

    Re: Olympus art filter question

    Anyone? It's not a difficult question. If you don't use these art filters, can you just check for me? Thanks in advance.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    19
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Olympus art filter question

    Just had a quick try. You can certainly control the aperture and ISO is subject to a separate control (on the Super Control Panel) anyway. Alternatively, just shoot raw using any exposure mode you like and apply the art filter using the Olympus Viewer software. Hope that helps.

  4. #4
    luznoi
    Guest

    Re: Olympus art filter question

    Well, I don't really want to deal with another PP program. I rather do it in camera...I am not a speed freak so I can deal with the slower processing. As long as I can choose my ISO and A, I'm fine. I thought they were disabled and set to ISO 200 by default. Thanks!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Trondheim, Norway
    Posts
    110
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Olympus art filter question

    I don't know if the various Olympus models are different from each other in this aspect, but with E-PL2 you can be in A mode and then choose the art filters via the menus. If you access the art filters this way you can change aperture etc.. Maybe there's an easier way to do it, but this works for me.

  6. #6
    luznoi
    Guest

    Re: Olympus art filter question

    Thanks, Helena! Now, with the epl2 on A mode, can you also adjust the ISO setting while utilizing the art filter? Say, for example, can you be in A priority mode and, say, grainy b+w filter *and* switch ISO between ISO 100 and 1600.
    The reason I ask is that all the epl2 images that popped up googling came up only with ISO 200...I just thought ISO 200 was (fixed) default with art filters. I know it's odd but, with some cameras set to certain filters, one can't manipulate other functions...

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Trondheim, Norway
    Posts
    110
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Olympus art filter question

    So sorry about the late reply, but I have been out traveling.

    I don't know about default, but yes, you can change ISO to whatever you want while using an Art filter (being in A priority mode, for example). I haven't looked around much, but it seems to me that most, if not all, settings are available to use together with the Art filters when accessed this way (via the menu, and not via the Art filter mode on the wheel).

  8. #8
    Senior Member Riley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Adelaide Hills South Australia
    Posts
    441
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Olympus art filter question

    on the SLRs, its just done from the Super Control Panel
    select it like any other controllable property, in this case as with Vivid or Natural etc, and it appears where you see text changing here

    . You can have any image setting with that, or in any mode. You can even edit them out of the SCP menu if you wish to

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,931
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Olympus art filter question

    Quote Originally Posted by Riley View Post
    on the SLRs, its just done from the Super Control Panel
    select it like any other controllable property, in this case as with Vivid or Natural etc, and it appears where you see text changing here

    . You can have any image setting with that, or in any mode, and you can run movie mode that way too. You can even edit them out of the SCP menu if you wish to
    Also, you can capture raw format and apply any art filters you want, rendering out to JPEGs in-camera after the fact.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Riley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Adelaide Hills South Australia
    Posts
    441
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Olympus art filter question

    yes, I have seen a demo where they upload a RAW back into the camera, select an Art filter and produce a jpeg.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •