The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Adapter(s) Help for my wife's GF2

J

jrob

I'd like to get my wife the nice 20mm pancake for her GF2 as it's seems like darn near a bargain for the quality of shots it's capable of and from what I've heard it can be reversed to make one heck of a macro lens as well.

Trouble is I'm far from an expert and I'm having a tough time figuring out exactly what I need to get to reverse the lens. The links on the first page or two of the macro thread seem to be dead. I tried looking up a step up ring from 46mm-52mm and reverse adapter on BH and there were *ahem* a "few" options. So some specific info would be a HUGE help as If i get her the lens and adapters they HAVE to work or I'll be:

:poke: :deadhorse:

For instance would this:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/11624-REG/B_W_65041197_46mm_to_52mm_Step_Up.html

..and one of these (which one?!) work?

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?Ntt=52mm+reverse+adapter&N=0&InitialSearch=yes

Thanks!

J

jrob

personally I'd get some manual focus lenses + extention tubes and do it the old fashioned way.

I found that it worked quite well just working off the back of a screen and chasing focus around by moving the camera

Well see that seems like a good idea too! I' hadn't heard of those! So basically you just move the lens further from the body to increase magnification? I believe the 20mm has manual focus as well so that might work!

JBurnett