Site Sponsors

Thread: Viewfinder blackout, Panny G1 vs. GH2/G3

Post Thanks / Like

Viewfinder blackout, Panny G1 vs. GH2/G3

I have the autoreview turned off on my G1. The G1's electronic viewfinder blackout as the shot takes place is annoying. With flash, the shutter delay and blackout is excruciating.

In the newer models, has Panasonic improved the time that the viewfinder blacks out during a shot? I'm talking about single shots, not burst mode.
    Last edited by Peter Klein; 21st September 2011 at 11:07.

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Re: Viewfinder blackout, Panny G1 vs. GH2/G3

I am new to the Panny, having bought a G2 back in July, so I do not have much experience with it yet.

So I just tried shooting with the on camera flash in a fairly dark room.

Review, like yours turned off. Exposure shown as 1/60 at f5.6 ISO 100. Black out time on the EVF almost nothing.

I hope this answers your question...

PeterJ

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Peter Klein View Post
    I have the autoreview turned off on my G1. The G1's electronic viewfinder blackout as the shot takes place is annoying. With flash, the shutter delay and blackout is excruciating.
    define excruciating?

mine (GH1) is blacked out only for the duration of the mechanical operation of the shutter ... flash or no flash

In the newer models, has Panasonic improved the time that the viewfinder blacks out during a shot? I'm talking about single shots, not burst mode.
    I'm expecting no, because the shutter sort of operates twice. The sensor is retasked and reset for exposure then back again.

http://youtu.be/-dK6Qa1Iy4Y

I used to find SLR mirror flopping annoying (coming from range finders) I used to have an EOS RT (gosh I regret selling that) with a pellicle mirror.

if you need less 'blackout' then SLR will be the way to go. I understand they are working on pellicle mirror types again now.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by pellicle View Post