Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Houston, we have a problem!

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    889
    Post Thanks / Like

    Houston, we have a problem!

    What do you guys use for processing RAW files?
    I'm asking because of my Panasonic GX1, and I don't see any m4/3 cameras in the Lightroom profiles for Olympus or Panasonic, so no lens correction either.

    Please help!

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: Houston, we have a problem!

    The Panasonic cameras have lens correction built into the RAW files so Lightroom works just fine with them. No user involvement needed. Adobe uses this information to automatically correct the files.

    Same holds true with Olympus however Olympus does not provide CA correction for their RAW files or for Oly lenses used on Panasonic bodies. Olympus does do distortion correction.

    Net Net here are the combinations and corrections that are done:
    Panny Lens
    Panny Body - distortion and CA
    Oly Body - distortion

    Oly Lens
    Panny Body - distortion
    Oly Body - distortion




    .

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    889
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Houston, we have a problem!

    Thanks Terry, I find it weird that the pull downs don't included either of these two companies though!

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: Houston, we have a problem!

    It just works differently. Panny and Oly built in lens corrections to the system before Adobe supported lens corrections. At that time it was the only way to make the corrections. No reason to go back and change it.

    So, anything in the drop down menu would sort of end up being a double correction. Once from the RAW and once again from the drop down.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    889
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Houston, we have a problem!

    Terry you are absolutely right, I am just saying that without you saying so, nothing warns me of this without some of research or asking in a forum. Thanks again!

  6. #6
    Senior Member kweide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,631
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Houston, we have a problem!

    If you are not satisfied with LR which is btw excellent piece of RAW converter did you ever tried DxO or even Silkypix ??
    30 days trial Version should give you much fun and enough time to check whether it works for you.
    __________________________________________________
    Part of the Wonderland
    see more ( NSFW ) on : http://www.klaweide.de

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    889
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Houston, we have a problem!

    Kweide: I didn't try the other converters yet, although I've been hearing more on Silkypix recently, any good?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    North Carolina western foothills
    Posts
    1,860
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Houston, we have a problem!

    If you like LR3, try the beta of LR4 with the newer Panny sensors. (Just remember that it is beta).

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Chester, PA
    Posts
    199
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Houston, we have a problem!

    I usually wait for production releases of Lightroom. Anything in LR4 that you see is a significant improvement?

  10. #10
    Senior Member Tesselator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    695
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Houston, we have a problem!

    There's a "Fix CA" button in the beta. A few other little things too. Go to the Adobe site and watch their videos on the Beta upgrade. It'll take about an hour all total and then you'll know.

    In one of the videos she compares the LRB4 workflow with CS5's Bridge/ACR/PS and gets a whole bunch of details wrong. But other than those inaccuracies the videos are pretty informative on what the new changes are and how significant they might be to one's own work flow.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •