The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

4/3rds and movement

Riley

well heres the thing, i use wides all the time so its not like i dont have an interest in UWA IQ, its how i make my living. The wider the lens the more acute the problem, but we are, as you point out, speaking of linear dimensions that are quite small.

From the Kodak E1 sensor, which is nearly 20x15 anyway,

whether we use it all or not, to 20x15 is an image circle increase of just 2.5mm on the image size of the old sensor, a radius out of 1.25mm. Jay Turberville tested several lenses and found them to exceed 40mm.

http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1000&message=27090223

so ok, lets get away from vignetting and look at soft edges, assuming that this would be an issue, even without the best of microlenses, there are a number of ways to defeat it. either stop down, or limit the WA.

If you look at the patent information, the image circle specification has a range between 21.2 (less than what we use now) and 25mm. What I am suggesting is actually within the specification, and isnt so darned far from the full size of the Kodak sensor.

http://patft.uspto.gov/netacgi/nph-...50&s1=6910814.PN.&OS=PN/6910814&RS=PN/6910814

jonoslack

so ok, lets get away from vignetting and look at soft edges, assuming that this would be an issue, even without the best of microlenses, there are a number of ways to defeat it. either stop down, or limit the WA.
this is the crunch - as I say, I do lots of landscape work with thin slivers of land at the bottom - if the corners and edges aren't sharp then it doesn't work.

So I notice.