Site Sponsors
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Advice on OM-D travel lens combo for upcoming trip to Europe

bobby_t1

Advice on OM-D travel lens combo for upcoming trip to Europe

I leave for a 2 week trip in Turkey in 2 weeks and am trying to assemble my travel kit based on my Olympus OM-D and would love some advice.

My challenge is two fold:
    1. I've been a DSLR shooter for a long time and just switched over from a Nikon D7000. I have zero experience with m4/3 prior to the Olympus (which I received 3 days ago)
    2. Normally I'd rent a bunch of lenses, use them over the course of a few weeks, then make a decision. However, since I leave in a couple of weeks (and I work a fulltime job ), I don't have time to do this.

I already own the following lenses, but not necessarily committed to bringing either of them:

• Panasonic 20 1.7 pancake
    • Panasonic 14 2.5 pancake

During our travel, we'll being doing a mix of nature, as well as urban environments. Typically I shoot a mix of 50% landscapes (about 1/3 are HDR), 40% architecture, and 10% people. I like to shoot lowlight as well, with maybe 1/3 my architecture shots being at night.

Given I'm new to the platform, I'd like to get advice from those that have shot with the OM-D for longer than 3 days () and have experience with the variety of lenses.

I like to travel relatively light, which I'm already going to be doing by ditching my D7000 in favor of the OM-D. So that's definitely a big win there. I don't mind switching lenses, but prefer fewer lenses over more.

Notes:

- Ideally, I'd like to try to keep it as 2 lens combo, but will do 3 or 4 lenses if htat makes sense. I don't mind leaving lenses behind in the hotel room if they aren't needed for the outing I"m going on (e.g. I'm likely bringing the Panny 20 1.7 for night shooting exclusively due to speed and size).

- In terms of cost, assume money is no object (not that I'm rich, I'm just selling a whack of Nikon lenses so I feel rich at the moment).