The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

GH3 Manual Focus?

T

tbonemain

I will preface this with:
I am new to Panasonic. I have been using Canon and Nikon DSLR/ Film cameras for many
years.

Now the short of the long of it is:

I received my new GH3 along with my HS12035 12-35mm F2 lens today and was very excited.
Upon firing the camera up, I discover the manual focus ring is disabled on the lens
unless the camera is set to MF mode (thus after reading manuals and contacting a
Panasonic tech)

I am confused how the focus ring can be disabled when auto focus functions are enabled.

It's seems counter productive for a professional body/lens to remove manual control. I
don't trust autofocus to always get it right (especially in lowlight or narrow DOF
situations), and sometimes you need to make a slight adjustments while shooting, but with
the ring disabled, you are now required to press the shutter release repeatedly to get
the camera to to adjust the frame as I want it, remove a supporting hand and put a finger
to the lcd or resort to a colored fader bar using a macro pop up screen, even if the
adjustment is small. Something that would have taken me mere milliseconds previously
would now possibly take minutes.

This is especially odd to me with the added other high tech features to somehow miss
basic manual override of the auto focus in the design.

I am aware this is not a Canon or Nikon, however, with an interchangeable lens system, I
would not have expected the inability to adjust focus manually at any time. It seems
very "point and shoot" or "consumer" to have an 'either /or ' design.