The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Panasonic 45-200 question

peterv

Now I apologize in advance if this question sounds stupid, but this is the longest lens I ever owned, and I'm new to O.I.S.

This afternoon I did some tests outside.

The focal length was set around 185, aperture around f5,5 , shutter 1/320 and ISO around 160.

I'm quite happy with the results, but when I view at 100% there's this blur that I don't recognize from my M lenses.

Is it the O.I.S. ?

BTW, I think the 'effect' looks kind of 'interesting', but I'd like to know what it is...

Thanks, Peter

Last edited:

barjohn

I think I may have seen the same thing but I haven't yet shot enough to be sure. Also, what happens if you turn OIS off or use one of the other settings besides number 1?

simonclivehughes

One thing to bear in mind is that you're shooting at nearly 300mm effective focal length and so any small movement will translate to blur. OIS is good, but you still need to consider shutter speed and 1/320th is not that fast for this (effective) focal length.

Cheers,

peterv

John, I will do some more testing hopefully tomorrow.

Guy, I was thinking the same thing, compressed air...
Of course that's not what we see here, but it sure looks like it.

peterv

One thing to bear in mind is that you're shooting at nearly 300mm effective focal length and so any small movement will translate to blur. OIS is good, but you still need to consider shutter speed and 1/320th is not that fast for this (effective) focal length.

Cheers,
Thanks, that's very true, but the areas that are in focus don't seem to show this phenomenon.