The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

OM-D E-M1 Shipment Notification

k-hawinkler

Footnote: I just developed the same ISO 3200 .ORF file in LR and in Olympus Viewer at defaults, then exported the Viewer version as 16bit tiff and imported into LR and compared. They LR versions is infinitely, hugely better: the Viewer version is a massively over NR mess!

I am no expert in Viewer at all - do people have any suggestions as to how to get results from it that match the in-camera JPEG?

Hi Tim,

Is your finding also true for ISO 200 images? Thanks.

Annna T

Footnote: I just developed the same ISO 3200 .ORF file in LR and in Olympus Viewer at defaults, then exported the Viewer version as 16bit tiff and imported into LR and compared. They LR versions is infinitely, hugely better: the Viewer version is a massively over NR mess!

I am no expert in Viewer at all - do people have any suggestions as to how to get results from it that match the in-camera JPEG?
Not sure to understand : Olympus Viewer is one of the rare proprietary converter to produce conversion matching the incamera jpegs. At least that is my experience with the E-P3 and E-M5. To the point that when people don't like the results of the incamera jpegs I tell them to open OW, play with the settings untill they get something they like and report these settings in their camera.