The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

E-M1 Settings - What Are Yours

jonoslack

Hi There
The amount of configurability on the E-M1 is huge (and bewildering).

Bart and I thought this would be a good place to exchange ideas.

I've had my camera for a long time now (3 days), and so I'm a complete expert :chug:

Actually, my first ambition was to make it so that I didn't have to look at the menus . . . EVER . . . . AGAIN!

I'm sure this isn't the final answer, but currently it's looking like it covers most of MY requirements.

AF, HDR buttons top left unchanged
FN1 set to AF area select. (With four way set to move the focus points)
FN2 set to magnify area
Video button set for focus peaking
AEL/AFL set to toggle AEL spot metering
When Switch set to 2 uses front dial for ISO. rear dial for WB (mode 1)
Front plate top set to manual WB
Front plate Bottom sets focus point to Home (not convinced by this)
Dials set to exp comp on front for PASM
On manual rear is Aperture, front is shutter speed

Shutter release set to AEL/AFL on half press . . .

So Far . . . . . . . what about yours?

scott kirkpatrick

For those who use manual focus lenses, which don't communicate their identities to the camera, you are supposed to tell the image stabilization circuits the focal length of the lens. There is a big difference between the image movement that results from a small camera movement when your lens is a Voightlander 12 or 15mm or a Leica R 180! Can you set this up in some sort of MyProfile preset? or pull up the menu line that lets you choose a focal length by pressing one of the external buttons?

scott

Annna T