Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: 4:3 or 3:2 on G1?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Texas
    Posts
    182
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    4:3 or 3:2 on G1?

    Using the G1. What is the advantage of one over other? I mainly print. Thanks, Frank

  2. #2
    nei1
    Guest

    Re: 4:3 or 3:2 on G1?

    The problem,as I see it,is that to get 3x2 from 4x3 you have to lose about a million pixels whereas from a cmos sensor you have to lose about a million pixels to get 4x3.I like 3x2 so my camera is yet to arrive.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,446
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 4:3 or 3:2 on G1?

    I think use what you want for depending on the scenario. Its all about framing and what you are used to. the extra 1MP from using 4:3 is small, especially if it affects your composition.

    MAzor

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northampton, Ma
    Posts
    532
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 4:3 or 3:2 on G1?

    the only time this has meant a lot to me was shooting weddings for a group that only delivered 8X12 prints. Having to shoot loose and crop from a 4X3 took time, and I wished those cameras had a setting for 3X2. The Nikon D3 has this, I'm sure for just this reason. best...Peter

  5. #5
    kiloran
    Guest

    Re: 4:3 or 3:2 on G1?

    4:3 just looks weird to me so I shoot 3:2 or 16:9

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,446
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 4:3 or 3:2 on G1?

    Some may beg to differ, 4:3 for some is closer to 1:1 square framing, but again, that would require further cropping to get 1:1 but for someone used to framing with square medium format, this may be preferable.

    Mazor

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northampton, Ma
    Posts
    532
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 4:3 or 3:2 on G1?

    I'd like a square option. btw, I assume that the EVF shows the image in the ratio selected? best......Peter

  8. #8
    Lupo
    Guest

    Re: 4:3 or 3:2 on G1?

    One can argue about the Landscape and different opinion...

    However, in the portrait looks 2:3 or 9:16 pretty stupid

  9. #9
    Senior Member barjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Galveston, TX
    Posts
    947
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    171

    Re: 4:3 or 3:2 on G1?

    Yes, the EVF show the image in the ratio selected.
    V/r John

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Northampton, Ma
    Posts
    532
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 4:3 or 3:2 on G1?

    cool, thanks

  11. #11
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    3,539
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 4:3 or 3:2 on G1?

    Quote Originally Posted by innerimager View Post
    I'd like a square option. btw, I assume that the EVF shows the image in the ratio selected? best......Peter
    Another vote here for 1:1 format option. I really want to see something like a G1 with a true square format hi res sensor.

  12. #12
    Senior Member Brian Mosley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,394
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: 4:3 or 3:2 on G1?

    I'd like a square sensor too - no need to spin the camera to take portraits

    4:3 is reasonably close though... I like the format. Shooting RAW means that you get the whole sensor and can crop if necessary.

    Kind Regards

    Brian

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •