The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Is the G1 for me? Advice please.. :)

S

Stimpy_7

Hello DPI Forum,

I’ve been lurking around here for some time now, but this is my first post so please do be kind! :)

Firstly, I am brand new to this hobby of photography. It is always something that I’ve been interested in, I’ve even had a play with an old skool SLR from time to time, but I’m practically a total novice.

I’ve done all the reading and research I can, but I’m ultimately stuck in a bit of a rut in regards to what camera I should be buying myself. This is where I need your advice!

The 2 camera’s I have narrowed this down too are the Panasonic Lumix G1 and the Panasonic DMC LX3. I know my two choices are totally different beasts but I am aiming to go travelling in August, so there’s a niggle at the back of mind that even the G1 will be too big to lug around. This is where the LX3 looks appealing…

My question is, is it worth me getting the G1, which will give me greater creative versatility in the future. Or, shall I buy the LX3 for its portability, but run the risk or limiting myself creatively….

I know this is a slightly unfair comparison, but I was just wondering what you guys would do if you were in my position? Would I find it hard to learn the basics on a LX3? Would I be limited as much as I think I would?

Or is it simply a case that they are 2 different camera’s for 2 different jobs…

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated and thank you for taking the time to read my monster post :)

Adam

Terry

Welcome to the forum!!!