The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

GX80 files are looking good

Godfrey

A lot is said around about Olympus not using an AA filter in several of their cameras (OMD EM1, EM5MKII, PenF) but quite frankly I have yet to see that aspect of lacking an AA filter that shines in those files. Definitively the EM5 MKII does seem to have one.
Anyhow, these are all great cameras, I just prefer no AA where possible, glad to see Panasonic stepped on that plate.
I've been working with FourThirds cameras since 2007: E-1, L1, G1, GF1, E-5, E-M1, E-PL1, and E-PL7.

Of these, the ones that show obvious characteristics of 'no AA filter' are the E-5, E-M1, and E-PL7. I don't need a specification to see it, I just need to look at my photos in raw format. For all three of these, the propensity to exhibit moire patterns on patterned textiles and other grid-lined subject matter is quite apparent. They're also the cameras that Lightroom's default raw sharpening strength presents itself as too strong and causes pseudo noise, even in low ISO shots of blue skies. Their output looks the most like what I see out of the Leica M9, M-P typ 240, and Ricoh GXR-M. For all of these cameras, I've created Lightroom processing defaults with the sharpening parameter set to between 0 and 8 rather than 25 in order to obtain the best image quality, in contrast to the E-1 and*some other cameras where I've set the default sharpening up between 30 and 50 to accommodate their heavy AA filtering.

I've not owned or used an E-M5 or E-M5 II, or other mFT cameras, to analyze their differences from the E-M1, E-5, etc.

G

raist3d