The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Some questions on Olympus EP-3 and lenses

pegelli

A friend gave me an Olympus EP-3 with a 45/1.8 lens. I especially like the small form factor and image quality seems fine as long as you stay at the lower iso's.
So it might become a camera to take with me when I want to travel very light.

I have no MFT experience, so hereby a few questions from a complete noob in that system

1)
45 mm on MFT is a bit long for just walk-around, any suggestions for getting something wider on a tight budget (don't want to spend serious money before I decide to like it). I think I would prefer primes, but cheap zooms can be considered.

2)
Olympus has in-body IS, so how does it work when you use panasonic MFT lenses with OIS. Don't think you can use both combined, but which can you switch off and how do you do that?

3)
Any tips/recommendations for how to configure an EP-3 (programmable buttons etc)

4) Anything else you think might be of use for someone new to MFT

Thanks in advance for your insights :clap:

iiiNelson

A friend gave me an Olympus EP-3 with a 45/1.8 lens. I especially like the small form factor and image quality seems fine as long as you stay at the lower iso's.

I have no MFT experience, so hereby a few questions from a complete noob in that system

1)
45 mm on MFT is a bit long for just walk-around, any suggestions for getting something wider on a tight budget (don't want to spend serious money before I decide to like it). I think I would prefer primes, but cheap zooms can be considered.

2)