The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Advice Sought Re E620 Choice

M

markpsf

I'm a high end amateur (at best!).
80% of my shooting is street shooting (candid photography mostly)
The rest is split between wildlife and landscapes.
I use a Panasonic LX3 and now the G1 but also want to have a slightly higher end DSLR outfit.

With some gift $$ I received I splurged on a Sony A900 outfit. I love the viewfinder, the quality of the lenses, and the IS, which I need because of a slight hand tremor. But at 70 years of age I'm finding the weight of the camera and lenses somewhat of a burden and the very loud shutter of the A900 makes it less than optimal for close-up street shooting.

I'm thinking of either selling the whole outfit or, more likely, my high end heavyweight and high priced zooms, using it with smaller primes and using the sales $$ to get the Olympus E620 plus a few Olympus lenses that I can also use with the G1.

I'd love your "take" before I make any decisions.

Thanks.

Mark

kweide

Size and weight are important facts finding a well balanced decision. The quality of glass and its price are additional main facts. Picturequality, i think have a look thru this forum and you will see Oly, Nikon, Sony, Canon etc. are on an equal level. Sensorsize and all this hype about it is indeed not so important, well A900 is a pure temptation but Nikons D700 as well. But the picture is always been made by YOU behind the cam.