Site Sponsors

Thread: Lenses and adapters for E-P1?

Post Thanks / Like

Please explain lenses and adapters for E-P1

I am soon to be an owner of the E-P1 and am very excited about it's potentials (and reports so far are encouraging!)

However, I am new to Oly and have no background or familiarity with it's lens systems and what other lenses can be adapted. The abbreviations and shorthand used to identify lenses in other posts have left me puzzled. I understand the 2 lenses that are being released with the camera, the 17mm and 14-42mm, but after that I'm mystified.

I would greatly appreciate it if someone would take the time to provide a brief summary. Which autofocus lenses can be used? And are there certain older Olympus lens systems, or other lens brands, that can be adapted with good results? Info on adapters also appreciated.

Thanks!
    Last edited by tom in mpls; 9th July 2009 at 11:29.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Lenses and adapters for E-P1?

I with you Tom - I have never used Oly stuff before and I just got the E-P1. I also just ordered a Panasonic 4/3 to micro 4/3 adapter from B&H ($139), and a Nikon F to 4/3 Fotodiox adapter from Amazon ($30). Using these two adapters stacked, I should be able to use my Nikon manual focus and Zeiss ZF Nikon-mount lenses on the E-P1.

Various companies are selling other adapters for other systems like Leica M-mount, etc. There is a chart in the first thread on this forum on these, and Cameraquest sells some, although their Nikon to 4/3 adapter is much more expensive than the Fotodiox one.

This site might also be of some help: http://www.four-thirds.org/en/microft/lense.html.

Regards,

Peter

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

So, the lens range that can be adapted is huge. I will start with the bit that I know and let others fill in.

Micro 4/3 - Both Olympus lenses autofocus. There are 4 Panasonic lenses that also all autofocus and are much quieter if you are shooting video (7-14, 14-45, 45-200, 14-140)