Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: E-P1 Dynamic range

  1. #1
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    E-P1 Dynamic range

    Is it me or isn't the dynamic range on the E-P1 that great? I have to say that compared to the DP1 I'm finding a BIG difference. The detail and dynamic range on the DP1 is just phenomenal and I thought that was what I was going to get with the E-P1...sadly it doesn't seem so.

  2. #2
    Senior Subscriber Member Mike Hatam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Gatos, CA
    Posts
    853
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    236

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    I haven't compared to the DP1, but isn't that one of those special 3-layer sensors for true color? Lower resolution, higher color accuracy and dynamic range. Probably not an apples-to-apples comparison.

    The E-P1 has better dynamic range that I saw on my E-420, and at least as good (maybe a touch better) than I had on my G1.

    But I'm still waiting for good raw processors (LR/CS) to support the E-P1, so I can see how much headroom I have in the highlights, and how much I can mash the bits around without ruining the file.
    Mike Hatam
    Sony A99, RX1, RX100

  3. #3
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    That's another thing, with the DP1 you could really pound it's jpgs hard on post and they wouldn't fall apart. I'm also still waiting for RAW support for Photoshop to see how it goes.

  4. #4
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Quote Originally Posted by Rawfa View Post
    That's another thing, with the DP1 you could really pound it's jpgs hard on post and they wouldn't fall apart. I'm also still waiting for RAW support for Photoshop to see how it goes.
    I disagree profoundly.

    DP1 files look astonishing first up on screen: silky, gorgeous, almost better than real. As native sized images they also take quite a lot of processing and in many situations they upres well: I had a show last year where I exhibited 20 x 30 inch shots, some from an M8 and some from a Canon 1DSIII but I snuck in one from the DP1 and not only did no one comment on any perceived quality difference but it turned out to be one of the best sellers of the edition.

    But the DP1 is now my glovebox camera: too good to sell on eBay but not good enough to be my main 'small carry around'. The reason is what it does to any regular round shapes (balls, arches on buildings etc) when upresed to the files size dimensions it lays claims to. All those curves go 'aliased jaggy' and it shows in prints, starting in some cases not far above A4.

    Also anything above ISO 200 has weird colours for reasons we all know and PP to try to correct this can force you into other corners.

    This week's amateur photographer mag in the UK found what I find: that if you expose the Pen at it's natural ISO of 200 you get very satisfactory DR and furthermore, the camera's exposure system is so consistently good that you most often get every drop of that DR. Just make sure that you turn of the display boost option so that when you use exposure compensation for heavily backlit situations, the LCD does in fact let you see what you're doing!

    Best

    Tim

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Barcelona/Catalunya
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    we discuss this in the german DSLR-Forum as well. OOC, the DP1/DP2 is unreachable for the E-P1, but if you develop RAW-Files, even with the Kit-Lens(remember DP1/2 are primes), the results are slightly better, so take a closer look at the photos here:

    http://www.dslr-forum.de/showpost.ph...&postcount=581

    In the moment i use C1 with the hack(Profile of the E-30), but i think we have to wait for the correct profile for the E-P1 before final conclusion about the IQ.

    Yogi

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Can't see the picture you refer to. I think you need to be logged on as a member

  7. #7
    Senior Member Brian Mosley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,394
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Quote Originally Posted by Rawfa View Post
    Is it me or isn't the dynamic range on the E-P1 that great? I have to say that compared to the DP1 I'm finding a BIG difference. The detail and dynamic range on the DP1 is just phenomenal and I thought that was what I was going to get with the E-P1...sadly it doesn't seem so.
    I think it's you

    The E-P1 has excellent dynamic range imho.

    E-P1 + 17mm f2.8 pancake
    1/100s f/2.8 at 17.0mm iso200


    I have the DP1 too... nothing special compared to the E-P1.

    Kind Regards

    Brian

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Barcelona/Catalunya
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Quote Originally Posted by TEBnewyork View Post
    Can't see the picture you refer to. I think you need to be logged on as a member
    sorry, but now:

    Attachment 19556

    Yogi

  9. #9
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Mosley View Post
    I think it's you

    The E-P1 has excellent dynamic range imho.

    E-P1 + 17mm f2.8 pancake
    1/100s f/2.8 at 17.0mm iso200


    I have the DP1 too... nothing special compared to the E-P1.

    Kind Regards

    Brian
    JPEGs wise I really don't see it. Like it was said before RAW maybe a different story. But I won't find that out until Photoshop puts out a RAW update for the E-P1 (I absolutely hate having to use different apps when one should be able to do everything).

  10. #10
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    To be honest, after my experience with the E-P1 I decided to hold on to the DP1.

  11. #11
    Senior Member Rawfa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Rio de Janeiro
    Posts
    2,393
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Is there any in-camera filter or setting that could maybe increase the dynamic range? The first day I've got the camera I've tried one of those art filters called "pale" (I think that's how it's called) but it won't let you use the camera in manual mode. I don't know, maybe I'll simply try decreasing the contrast...

  12. #12
    Member bcaslis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Wilsonville, OR, USA
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    What settings did you use for the E-P1? It has best dynamic range at ISO 200. You will get reduced dynamic range at ISO 100.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Barcelona/Catalunya
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Quote Originally Posted by bcaslis View Post
    What settings did you use for the E-P1? It has best dynamic range at ISO 200. You will get reduced dynamic range at ISO 100.
    only in jpg, with raw you have the same dynamic range, don't know why

    Yogi

  14. #14
    Member bcaslis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Wilsonville, OR, USA
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    I would have to disagree with this. I've seen nothing including my own pictures that suggest RAW doesn't see a dynamic range drop when using ISO 100. The base ISO of the camera is 200. ISO 100 simply overexposes and then reduces the brightness. You don't lose DR in the shadows but you will lose it in the highlights for sure.

  15. #15
    Subscriber Member tashley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South of England
    Posts
    3,295
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Quote Originally Posted by bcaslis View Post
    I would have to disagree with this. I've seen nothing including my own pictures that suggest RAW doesn't see a dynamic range drop when using ISO 100. The base ISO of the camera is 200. ISO 100 simply overexposes and then reduces the brightness. You don't lose DR in the shadows but you will lose it in the highlights for sure.
    You are 100% right.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Barcelona/Catalunya
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Quote Originally Posted by tashley View Post
    You are 100% right.
    yep, and i apologize i mix something up

    Yogi

  17. #17
    Senior Member Will's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Near London
    Posts
    1,054
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Quote Originally Posted by mod2001 View Post
    sorry, but now:

    Attachment 19556

    Yogi
    Which image is the DP1 or E-P1

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Barcelona/Catalunya
    Posts
    33
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Quote Originally Posted by Will View Post
    Which image is the DP1 or E-P1
    both are E-P1, left JPG OOC, right RAW with adjustments

    Yogi

  19. #19
    Senior Member Will's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Near London
    Posts
    1,054
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Thanks.

    Quite a difference!

  20. #20
    Senior Member pellicle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southport, Australia
    Posts
    1,429
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Hi

    Quote Originally Posted by bcaslis View Post
    I would have to disagree with this. I've seen nothing including my own pictures that suggest RAW doesn't see a dynamic range drop when using ISO 100. The base ISO of the camera is 200. ISO 100 simply overexposes and then reduces the brightness.
    how can this be in RAW? If it is reducing brightness then it can not be raw, unless there is a different encoding strategy for the analog data from the sensor in different ISO settings.

    I have seen nothing to suggest this in my own camera (G1)

  21. #21
    Member bcaslis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Wilsonville, OR, USA
    Posts
    39
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Reducing the brightness is probably the wrong term. The fact is that a number of cameras have a base ISO of 200. ISO 100 is simulated by overexposing the image (since you can't get lower than the base ISO) and then digitally lowering the output. This has the effect of preserving shadows but reducing the highlight range overall reducing the dynamic range.

  22. #22
    Senior Member pellicle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southport, Australia
    Posts
    1,429
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Dynamic range

    Quote Originally Posted by bcaslis View Post
    This has the effect of preserving shadows but reducing the highlight range overall reducing the dynamic range.
    sounds desirable to me ... rather like non-linear encoding strategys. Unless of course that one exceeds the signal to noise capacity of the shadow areas and essentially only gets dirtier shadows.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •