Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: E-P1 Settings Question

  1. #1
    Burningalive
    Guest

    E-P1 Settings Question

    Ok....I've had my e-p1 for approx. one day, So could someone share with me the setting I need most be concerned about? I'm starting to figure the menu's out but man.....I really don't understand the way some settings are buried! The camera is beautiful! I just figured out how to change the IQ to superfine! It shouldn't be that hard! I haven't got a chance to look at the photo's out of it yet....I shot a bunch today and will look when I get home tonight. Any suggestions would be great! Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,008
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Settings Question

    As much as I'm enjoying what this camera can do, I agree that the menu and function organization is appalling.

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,929
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Settings Question

    hmm. I don't know about appalling; the Olympus C8080WZ was appalling. Complex is a little more like it for me.

    I don't own one yet, but I've been reading the instruction manual for a week or so. Most of it is pretty understandable once you get the designer's logic in your head ... that's the real challenge. ;-)

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,008
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Settings Question

    OK. How about, "the menu and function organization could benefit significantly from a careful redesign". In the mean time, I will try to get into the head of a seriously deranged designer.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Brian Mosley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,394
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: E-P1 Settings Question

    It's just very deep, and not familiar... take it one step at a time, the beauty of the E-P1 is that you can use it every day - you'll master the menus in no time.

    I've been using it for a good three weeks now, and it's getting better and better.

    Cheers

    Brian

  6. #6
    Senior Member kevinparis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    919
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    5

    Re: E-P1 Settings Question

    obviously I am a seriously deranged designer...

    I had a play with an e-P1 in Arles just over a week ago and found everything i wanted within seconds... Maybe i don't use a camera properly but i really don't get this constant moan about how the e-p1 interface is difficult... to me it is just like my oly 510... everything i need a press jog press away. Much better than any other digital camera i have ever had.

    Maybe all these feature people are hunting for in the lower depth of the menus will make them better photographers... but i doubt it... they are buried because they are not that important to the process of taking a photo for the large majority of photographers

    still not as instinctive as the old pre digital days... split screen to focus with a ring actually connected to the glass, and just 3 other controls for ISO, shutter and aperture... bliss.

    K



    :-)

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,008
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Settings Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Mosley View Post
    It's just very deep, and not familiar... take it one step at a time, the beauty of the E-P1 is that you can use it every day - you'll master the menus in no time.

    I've been using it for a good three weeks now, and it's getting better and better.

    Cheers

    Brian
    I am reassured. I do love the camera, but I am certain that the controls could have been designed in a more intuitive manner. It is true that my time with the camera has been short, and part of the problem remains my limited familiarity with it.

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: E-P1 Settings Question

    Quote Originally Posted by kevinparis View Post
    obviously
    Maybe all these feature people are hunting for in the lower depth of the menus will make them better photographers... but i doubt it... they are buried because they are not that important to the process of taking a photo for the large majority of photographers


    :-)
    Perhaps there are some esoteric settings that you are referring to but I don't consider landscape out of the mainstream and bracketing, a simple fact of life in this type of shooting, takes either 26 or 13 button pushes depending on how you set it up.

  9. #9
    Senior Member kevinparis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    919
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    5

    Re: E-P1 Settings Question

    Terry

    Not tried that... not a function I ever use... just tried finding bracketing on my 510 and it was a about 5 clicks away.

    26 does seem excessive

    K

  10. #10
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,929
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: E-P1 Settings Question

    Quote Originally Posted by TEBnewyork View Post
    Perhaps there are some esoteric settings that you are referring to but I don't consider landscape out of the mainstream and bracketing, a simple fact of life in this type of shooting, takes either 26 or 13 button pushes depending on how you set it up.
    Heya Terry,

    I tend to use bracketing infrequently, but most of my cameras have made it moderately easy to do either with a menu to configure the bracketing and a button to switch it on and off (Panasonic) or a button/dial combination press to do both in one operation (Pentax K10D, Olympus E-1). Doing the latter strategy with a menu is a bit slow to get to, makes switching it on and off quickly a bit of a pain .. I wonder how many people switch bracketing on and off like that?

    It seems it might make sense to create a "my mode" configuration with all your standard settings plus your typical bracket setting. That way you could swap back and forth between them without having to dive down into the bracket configuration menu, just select which mode you want to be in and shoot.

    Does this not work the way I think it ought to? Be easier to figure out if I had a camera, heh ... ;-)
    Last edited by Godfrey; 21st July 2009 at 05:30.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •