Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: GH1 has larger sensor then G1

  1. #1
    Senior Member hot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    2,170
    Post Thanks / Like

    GH1 has larger sensor then G1

    than, than, than ... grrrr

    Panasonic is silent, hehehehehe.
    "4/3 = 17.3x13 mm"



    pictures from MY G1/GH1

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: GH1 has larger sensor then G1

    It is simply to allow for the multi aspect ratios with no cropping. In a 4:3 aspect ratio you get the same 4000x3000 pixels

  3. #3
    ddk
    Guest

    Re: GH1 has larger sensor then G1

    At least you have your GH1 already, we're still waiting for the US release! Unfortunately this is one camera that we can't import directly.

  4. #4
    Senior Member pellicle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southport, Australia
    Posts
    1,429
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: GH1 has larger sensor then G1

    so what size image in pixels do you get when you use dcraw to make a tiff from a stills image?

  5. #5
    Senior Member hot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    2,170
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: GH1 has larger sensor then G1

    Quote Originally Posted by TEBnewyork View Post
    It is simply to allow for the multi aspect ratios with no cropping. In a 4:3 aspect ratio you get the same 4000x3000 pixels
    I know, I know

    I tested only because a lot of people say, it's the SAME SIZE, and (more - 13.1mp : 14 mp) pixels are smaller.

  6. #6
    Senior Member hot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    2,170
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: GH1 has larger sensor then G1

    Quote Originally Posted by pellicle View Post
    so what size image in pixels do you get when you use dcraw to make a tiff from a stills image?
    Sorry, I hate RAW - it is wasting of lifetime

  7. #7
    Senior Member hot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    2,170
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: GH1 has larger sensor then G1

    Quote Originally Posted by ddk View Post
    At least you have your GH1 already, we're still waiting for the US release! Unfortunately this is one camera that we can't import directly.
    In Europe you can get GH1 (PAL-version) in black/red/champagne for 1200 € - 1550 € (regular price).
    This week in mediamarkt with 19% rabat (~1200 €), but other dealers have this camera also for ~ 1200, sometimes even with Pana mic & Pana bag for 1300 €

    black - http://geizhals.at/eu/a409408.html
    red - http://geizhals.at/eu/a413099.html

    http://www.germanoffice-shopping.de/...ducts_id=20676

    14-140 - http://geizhals.at/eu/a409874.html
    7-14 - http://geizhals.at/eu/a409879.html

    I got mine some weeks ago within 4 days (ordered ---> Panasonic Germany) - with 3 years dealer warranty.

    http://forums.steves-digicams.com/pa...mix-gh1-8.html

    My next camera is a Fuji Finepix W1 (September 2009)
    Better would be a GH2 with two lenses and two 4/3 sensors Perhaps Xmas 2010

    .

  8. #8
    ddk
    Guest

    Re: GH1 has larger sensor then G1

    Unfortunately the video systems (PAL-NTSC) aren't compatible and Panasonic has crippled Japanese market ones with no English language menus. I just ordered the Fuji from Japan.

  9. #9
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: GH1 has larger sensor then G1

    David,
    my suggestion is to place an order with Panasonic on panasonic.com. They are showing backordered until September but will accept orders. I spoke to them yesterday and was told cameras are coming in and they are shipping in order from the list. You can always cancel the order if you find it elsewhere but this way you are at least in line.

  10. #10
    ddk
    Guest

    Re: GH1 has larger sensor then G1

    Quote Originally Posted by TEBnewyork View Post
    David,
    my suggestion is to place an order with Panasonic on panasonic.com. They are showing backordered until September but will accept orders. I spoke to them yesterday and was told cameras are coming in and they are shipping in order from the list. You can always cancel the order if you find it elsewhere but this way you are at least in line.
    Thanks Terry, I'm already on that list. I need two of them so I wont be sending anything back, but now there's also the GRD3 coming along with the Fuji 3D camera and all at the same time. I hate it when this happens. On the bright side, the S2 is delayed till October.

  11. #11
    Senior Member hot's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    2,170
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: GH1 has larger sensor then G1

    I'll hope you get your GH1 soon (not at Xmas), it's an excellent camera.

    And it will not be like Canon Powershot TX1 (one of the first movie cameras) which never saw Europe - only America :-(

  12. #12
    Senior Member pellicle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southport, Australia
    Posts
    1,429
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: GH1 has larger sensor then G1

    Quote Originally Posted by hot View Post
    Sorry, I hate RAW - it is wasting of lifetime
    be that as it may for normal photography it answers an important question on this sensor ... so if you have time to answer it I think it would be quite interesting

    alternatively email me any raw file from it and I'll waste my time. you can use mailbigfile.com or such like to send it to me

    pellicle at hotmail dot com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •