The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

DPI/Pixe density

Rawfa

I was reading an article (http://www.sphoto.com/techinfo/dslrsensors/dslrsensors.htm) and the part about pixel density got me curious. The way they relate it to DPI (Dots Per Inch) gave me the impression that if you set the E-P1 settings to lower DPI should decrease the pixel density. I'm not too technical so maybe I got it wrong. Is this right? What I still don't really get is if it's good or bad to have high or a low pixel density. On another thread it was said that the DP1 was the winner because it had like 1.6pixel density...

"Pixel density is nothing more than the dpi (Dots Per Inch) rating of the sensor where each dot is an individual photo receptor on the sensor that will produce one pixel. Higher sensor dpi numbers = higher pixel density."

kevinparis

Rafa

You cant change the pixel density... that is locked in when the sensor is made.

General theory is that higher pixel density means smaller individual pixel sensors which are less sensitive to light so they have to have their signal amplified which leads to noise.

The reason why the D700 has such good High ISO performance is that the pixel density is low - only 12 million pixels in the area of a full frame sensor. On the otherhand something like a G10 crams 15 million pixels onto a much smaller sensor.

Changing the image resolution on the camera just gives YOU less pixels to play with - the camera always captures all the pixels it can

hope this helps

K

pellicle

reviewing that (written some time ago) I find one of my wishes is already granted: