The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

More and more film fun with something other than a Leica M

Cindy Flood

Super Moderator
hello, I've been trying film (I have been doing digital-only for about 5 years) so: bought Neopan 100 (the only b&w here).

Please tell me what you think as I have no idea what I am doing.

developed in the local shop & I scanned it in a flatbed hp g4050.

shot with R9& 15/2.8
Hi gero,
It is nice to see you here. I am no expert, but when I scan my film (which I also get developed locally), I aim for the flattest scan and widest range of tones. I then can manipulate the curve/levels, etc. in post. I think you are just a little too contrasty and it is hard to see the people in the photo....maybe others will disagree.

Lars

Hi gero,
It is nice to see you here. I am no expert, but when I scan my film (which I also get developed locally), I aim for the flattest scan and widest range of tones. I then can manipulate the curve/levels, etc. in post. I think you are just a little too contrasty and it is hard to see the people in the photo....maybe others will disagree.
Cindy is quite right. A good negative scan fills the entire histogram without clipping at either end - flat scan, wide range of tones.

gero

thank you Cindy & Lars, when they developed in the shop they also scanned a jpeg that looks more like you are saying and also sharper.

here it is to compair:

sizifo

There was some discussion in the M9 section as to why people should be trying to emulate the look of B&W film with digital. Well... here's the answer. God these are beautiful.

Stuart Richardson