Site Sponsors

Thread: New to 120 Scanning

Post Thanks / Like

New to 120 Scanning

I haven't shot Medium Format since the 1970's. I've just purchased a Fuji GX 689III.

I'm looking for a custom lab for scanning in Los Angeles.

Recommendations for a decent scanner which won't break the bank.

Thanks,
    Gary

Post Thanks / Like

Re: New to 120 Scanning

A good scanner would be the Epson V700, excellent for MF and LF, not so good for 35mm though. I use the Betterscanning film holders with ANR glass but the standard holders still do a good job if you take the time to test the focus calibration. With a good workflow you can get a very high quality scan.

Steve

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for the tip. I'll check it out.

Subscriber Member Jorgen Udvang's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

+1 for the V700/750/800/850. A good film holder that keeps the film flat is the key to success.

Post Thanks / Like

I'm new to scanning film too, but I recently scored a new-in-box V700 for $350 from a local Craigslist seller. I updated to the latest Epson Scan software, and also purchased VueScan software which allows greater control.

I'm pleased with what I'm seeing, though color correction, particularly of color negatives, is still proving kind of tricky in VueScan.

The stock plastic film carriers are working okay for me but I'll probably upgrade these at some point. Impression is that my film (up to 6x6 images anyhow; I haven't gotten to my 6x9 and 4"x5" negatives yet) are being held reasonably flat, but the carriers are kind of annoying to work with, and once I get past the practice phase, I'll want something that can be loaded and unloaded faster, and which allows me to scan clear to the edge of the emulsion.

Post Thanks / Like

To get the best image from the stock holders you need to do a focus test using the adjustable feet and see which setting gives the sharpest image. The Betterscanning holders have finely adjustable feet and can be an improvement.