The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

New to 120 Scanning

GaryAyala

I haven't shot Medium Format since the 1970's. I've just purchased a Fuji GX 689III.

I'm looking for a custom lab for scanning in Los Angeles.

Recommendations for a decent scanner which won't break the bank.

Thanks,
Gary

250swb

A good scanner would be the Epson V700, excellent for MF and LF, not so good for 35mm though. I use the Betterscanning film holders with ANR glass but the standard holders still do a good job if you take the time to test the focus calibration. With a good workflow you can get a very high quality scan.

Steve

4season

I'm new to scanning film too, but I recently scored a new-in-box V700 for $350 from a local Craigslist seller. I updated to the latest Epson Scan software, and also purchased VueScan software which allows greater control.

I'm pleased with what I'm seeing, though color correction, particularly of color negatives, is still proving kind of tricky in VueScan.

The stock plastic film carriers are working okay for me but I'll probably upgrade these at some point. Impression is that my film (up to 6x6 images anyhow; I haven't gotten to my 6x9 and 4"x5" negatives yet) are being held reasonably flat, but the carriers are kind of annoying to work with, and once I get past the practice phase, I'll want something that can be loaded and unloaded faster, and which allows me to scan clear to the edge of the emulsion.

250swb