PDA

View Full Version : Phocus Beta for the Mac



docmoore
15th March 2008, 08:12
Phocus in Beta for the Mac is now available for download....

See:

http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/content_page.asp?cid=7-9308-9341

Regards,

Bob Moore

David K
15th March 2008, 14:51
Bob,
Thanks for posting this info. I've been waiting to see if the reality measures up to the hype on this software. I watched the linked video and the GPS link to Google Earth is very cool. As an aside I can't help but wonder about their choice of narrator's for the video. I've heard better narration on $300 real estate video tours :)

PeterA
15th March 2008, 15:35
Downloaded it ..and cant seem to get it to open up..

David K
15th March 2008, 16:13
I haven't downloaded it... really no need except for curiosity, but I do recall reading that you must have Flexcolor on your computer for the program to be functional.

docmoore
15th March 2008, 17:11
That appears to be correct as Phocus uses the Flexcolor ICC profiles at the present time. Mine loaded and runs fine but the import of files really shifts the exposure as it shifts the histogram to the far right...I am looking for a way to import without it messing with the file as most of my exposures are very close to where I want them for post processing.

Bob Moore

PeterA
15th March 2008, 17:25
I downloaded the latest Flexcolour and even restarted the mac - still doesnt work...hmmm..stumped

docmoore
15th March 2008, 17:54
Peter,

Which Mac?

I am using Intel MacPro and am not sure if this might make a difference if another PPC Mac was used... however, I suspect not. Have you re-downloaded the Phocus? FTP occasionally fails or perhaps unzip went awry?

Keep us informed...I would value your input and thoughts on the program.

Thanks,

Bob Moore

PeterA
15th March 2008, 18:01
Hi Bob,
I am running dual core ( 2 x2.66Ghz) Intel Xenon with 4gb of ram - so i dont think it is my puter that is teh issue..I will downlaod fttp again and see what happens. I have been looking forward to this programme as teh acide test on wther to switch from Leaf to blad. Also - hopingthat DMR files canbe handled as well.

I'l post what happens when I get a chance..busy stacking 300 1 tonne bales of hay at the moment :)

PeterA
15th March 2008, 18:42
Hmmm tried re-downloaded the software..and it still wont load from my desktop ( it unzips just fine but wont start up ) ..so ..I shall await further developments..grrrr!

Joseph Ramos
15th March 2008, 23:27
Peter,
Are you running 10.5 or later on your mac? It only works with 10.5 or later.

docmoore
16th March 2008, 11:09
I again have worked with some files in the new Phocus beta. I emailed a response to Hasselblad as the standard import settings for the file kill my imbedded exposure values from the Hasselblad. It is almost as if they are trying to mimic the older 3F scanner setting which spread the histogram, slammed it to the right which made for a very large capture but a flat contrast file that needed a lot of work to correct with curves. As the majority of the files out of the camera are pretty much on the money with regards to exposure this makes no sense to me.

The viewer window does not match the view one gets in the thumbnail window with regards to contrast or exposure. The thumbnails seem much closer to the correct values...this occurs even after you have corrected a file and saved those corrections....the thumbnail looks better than the viewer window.

I can attest to the success of the moire filter as it seems to clean up files nicely. However, until something major changes with the above the program is pretty much unusable for me at the present time...oh, and since I installed it Flexcolor 4.8.4 unexpectedly shuts down when one goes to save files at output...

Any thoughts or observations would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Bob Moore

docmoore
17th March 2008, 08:05
Hasselblad responded to my issue with the Viewer window.

I had migrated from the G5 PPC to Mac Pro and the Hasselblad profiles were not moved by the migration assistant...

Without the ICC profiles in spite of Flexcolor 4.8.4 working the Phocus Viewer window was way off...reinstall of the Flexcolor 4.8.4 solved the problem.

Bob Moore

docmoore
17th March 2008, 11:55
Now that I have the program running pretty well I have had a chance to convert a few files and look at them. The workflow is much improved over the old Flexcolor and conversions to TIF are very good.

I have appended a few files that were run to TIF with Phocus then imported into Adobe Raw for minor correction in CS3...and they really needed very little work.

Inside Low Light Low Iso

2222


Outside - Here color balance was a little off ... I needed to correct with Red and Blue curve. Need to see if this consistently happens when winter grasses predominate.

2223


2224

Outside test of Moire filter with very good results on the large metal building.


2225


2226

Overall the conversions are very close to the real thing. Import conversion and export to TIF from 3F was quick. The program seems very stable.

Bob Moore

PeterA
18th March 2008, 05:14
Oh I haven't installed Leopard yet still running Tiger..?? is that the problem?

docmoore
18th March 2008, 12:05
Hi, Peter.

Yes according to the readme file that unzips with the software the Mac needs to have 10.5.2 ( or 10.5.1? ) to run....Leopard.

I really like Leopard and it runs well with everything I have at the present time so if you can upgrade you should be able to get Phocus up and running.

Bob Moore

fotografz
18th March 2008, 14:46
Been using it now since it was mistakenly made prematurely available.

Very fast. FINALLY ...full rez previews instead of the crappy ones from Flex. Cool magnifier. Processes almost instantly on my machine. They DO recommend a healthy Graphics Card like the RadeonX1900 I'm running.

WAHOOOO!

PeterA
18th March 2008, 23:15
Ok I have ordered Leopard..DANG I HATE changing operating systems...
hey Marc - does it handle DMR files?

fotografz
19th March 2008, 00:52
Ok I have ordered Leopard..DANG I HATE changing operating systems...
hey Marc - does it handle DMR files?

No Peter, as far as I can tell it does not process DNGs. DNG is one of the file formats you can select for export just like with Flexcolor. And just like Flexcolor, any image adjustment made in Phocus does not migrate with DNGs.

When I tried selecting files already converted to DNG, Phocus crashed. This may be due to selecting images from a plug-in Hard Drive that has caused issues in the past. I'll drag a few shots to my desktop and see if Phocus still crashes.

I have not tried processing any DNGs from the Leica DMR. And I wonder if the DNGs from the first H2D/22 that shot DNGs will work? I also haven't tried Phocus yet when scanning with my Imacon 949. Haven't tried it tethered either.

My caveat is that I just started fooling around with it, and haven't had time to re-read the instructions after discovering what I don't know : -)

robsteve
28th March 2008, 14:56
I have not tried processing any DNGs from the Leica DMR.

I wonder if it will process the 3f files that Flexcolor creates when importing the DMR files?

Robert

fotografz
28th March 2008, 16:56
I wonder if it will process the 3f files that Flexcolor creates when importing the DMR files?

Robert

I tried it with DMR files. It shows the thumbnails in a browser window, some of which were distorted ... and the approval indicator was yellow, not green. When I tried to import them, a sign popped up saying that the "Capture Failed".

If you have a DMR, DO NOT discard Flexcolor 4.8.4. It processes DMR files better than anything out there. The ISO 800 files are almost noise free, and the noise control sub-menu is amazing at controlling noise in he shadows.

I did shoot tethered with a H3D-II39 using Phocus, and it works great. Haven't tried Live View yet.

PeterA
29th March 2008, 18:17
What a shame they didn't continue supporting the DMR...oh well... I do have Flexclour 4.8.8

fotografz
30th March 2008, 02:07
Peter, remember this is the first beta version. They asked for comments ... so this DMR/DNG should be one of them ... NO?

In the meantime, I'd make multiple copies of Version 4.8.4

PeterA
30th March 2008, 03:07
I am hearing you Marc.

fotografz
30th March 2008, 04:21
Peter ... an interesting new fact:

The Hasselblad files are now recognized by Aperture, iPhoto, and Mac Preview.

I just uploaded some Hasselblad H3D-II/39 files to iPhoto and they showed up. You can then sort them and batch process to jpgs or tiffs.

Hopefully, Adobe will take the hint and support 3Fs in Lightroom and CS3/ACR.

Flexcolor and Phocus are still the weapons of choice ... however, for mass shooting like Weddings, It's be nice to drop the Hasselbald shots into a follder with all my other different camera formats and sort by time shot ... without having to convert the 3Fs to DNG first. I hate having to save both 3Fs and DNGs of the same shots.

PeterA
30th March 2008, 15:46
Marc - I was ready to switch to Sinar - because of the multiple adaptor differentiation...and then I checked out their 'software' - which needs a third party plug in just to make DNG's ..I mean talk about high tech constrained by low tech software workflow...someone needs a size 12 boot up bum.

Adobe will end up being the default standard for all files over time...how many software developers for raw processing do we really need?

I am thinking of my MFDB as 'film' - I want to be able to use this 'film' on any camera/lens platform( s) I like. If Sinar can get their software rihght...they will be the most serious challenger to Hasselblad IMHO.

Teh other manufcaturers should think seriously about the superiror cross platform functionality of Sinar. I knwo Leaf's basic back design DOESNT allow for mutlipel adaptor plates...

The whole premise of this is that people only use one platform - Sinar allows you to use whatever platform(s) you like - and charge a nice fat premium per adaptor plate to 'allow' you to do it. (of course) :)

Sometimes I think we were all better off using film. My ideal camera woudl have a film capture capability AND a digi caprurte ability which you coudl use at full res or use as polaroids use to be used...impossible I know...but we can all dream..

i have no doubt that years from now high end digi video capture will possibly cream dedicated stills systems - possibly MANY years from now the costs today are way too high ...LOL

the only thing stopping me from switching to blad right now is I dont have a long term working relationship with supplier her ein Australia - maybe I shoudl use a recommended dealer in the US?? what do you think Marc?

Pete

BJNY
30th March 2008, 16:02
Sinar's revamped eXposure 6.0 is due this week.
It'll shoot directly to DNG.

See screenshots at http://luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=21222&view=findpost&p=158592

PeterA
30th March 2008, 16:19
BJNY - that thread perfectly captures the frustration of existing users..doesnt it? Looking forward to seeing teh software - thanks for the link.

BJNY
30th March 2008, 16:27
I think Jekoptik/Sinar/F&H are just hitting their stride, almost two years after the announcements at Photokina '06. After all, launching a new camera platform isn't "easy", just as Hasselblad experienced with their H1. Not every one of their current HC lenses were available until years later, and now Phocus is finally out as well. So, if you ask me, each company has its pluses and minuses. I'll be making my decision(s) in the next few months.

thsinar
30th March 2008, 18:17
... possibly this coming tuesday (tomorrow), if the weekend tests prove to be successful.

Thanks Billy!

Best regards,
Thierry


Sinar's revamped eXposure 6.0 is due this week.
It'll shoot directly to DNG.

See screenshots at http://luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=21222&view=findpost&p=158592

David K
30th March 2008, 19:45
Thierry,

If you need an extra day, not to worry. i don't pick up my Sinar kit till Wednesday :)

David

thsinar
30th March 2008, 21:07
Well noted, David!

:salute:

Best regards,
Thierry



Thierry,

If you need an extra day, not to worry. i don't pick up my Sinar kit till Wednesday :)

David

PeterA
30th March 2008, 21:09
David - congratulations on yoru new purchase - looking forward to your users experience - as you know I am shooting Leaf 75 and very interested in Sinar vs Hasselblad.

Pete

BJNY
31st March 2008, 00:04
What actually did you order, David?
I've been using the e75lv on a regular basis for the past nine months if that's what's arriving, and if you have any questions.
Billy

fotografz
31st March 2008, 08:05
Phocus in Beta for the Mac is now available for download....

See:

http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/content_page.asp?cid=7-9308-9341

Regards,

Bob Moore

FYI: new Phocus version 1.0b13 is now available on the Hasselblad site.


http://www.hasselblad.com/promotions/phocus-software-download.aspx

docmoore
31st March 2008, 13:29
Marc,

I downloaded the new version. When I attempted to load the supplied Hassy RGB ICC file to Library/Colorsync/Profiles I received a warning that the extant profile was newer than the one supplied with the new .13 software. I left the one that was there previously ... from Flexcolor 4.8.4 I presume.

The readme file doesn't mention any changes to the profile....maybe a correction of the mild magenta cast present in some of my landscape files.
I have not had time to compare the files by switching out the profiles and have not done a detailed look at the profiles to see if they are the same yet.

Any ideas?

Bob Moore

fotografz
31st March 2008, 15:34
Marc,

I downloaded the new version. When I attempted to load the supplied Hassy RGB ICC file to Library/Colorsync/Profiles I received a warning that the extant profile was newer than the one supplied with the new .13 software. I left the one that was there previously ... from Flexcolor 4.8.4 I presume.

The readme file doesn't mention any changes to the profile....maybe a correction of the mild magenta cast present in some of my landscape files.
I have not had time to compare the files by switching out the profiles and have not done a detailed look at the profiles to see if they are the same yet.

Any ideas?

Bob Moore

Hi Bob.

I think the ICC profiles were provided for those who don't have Flexcolor 4.8.4 on their machine. If you have Flex 4.8.4 on your machine, I think you just drag Phocus App. Icon to your Mac Applications folder ... then drag that to your Dock if you want it copied there like I do.

fotografz
1st April 2008, 00:42
Sometimes I think we were all better off using film. My ideal camera woudl have a film capture capability AND a digi caprurte ability which you coudl use at full res or use as polaroids use to be used...impossible I know...but we can all dream..

the only thing stopping me from switching to blad right now is I dont have a long term working relationship with supplier her ein Australia - maybe I shoudl use a recommended dealer in the US?? what do you think Marc?

Pete

Peter, you already have a H camera right? If it's an H1, H2 or H3, it'll take a film back. Only the H3-II doesn't. If you want a new digital back why not a CF and use the iAdapters?

Some of the dealers that frequent this forum seem pretty with it. You'd have to deal with the time difference in terms of communication. I have a very good Hasselblad dealer here in Michigan also.

robsteve
7th April 2008, 16:59
I just got a Mac and Phocus will read DMR files like Flexcolor did. You first have to import them using Flexcolor, but after that, Phocus sees their 3f import versions and will work with them.

Robert

PeterA
7th April 2008, 18:44
Marc - I think I will make contact with your dealer in Michigan if you are happy to introduce me. Otherwise I don't know any 'Blad dealer who frequents this forum?

Robert that is great to know thanks for that.

Pete

DougDolde
7th April 2008, 19:40
Phocus runs OK (albeit a bit slow) on my Santa Rosa MacBook Pro 2.2 ghz with 4gb ram. Still downloading the sample files.

It's probably there but I don't see a hand tool for panning. Anyone found it?

The 4 arrow keys will move the zoomed in image...pretty slow on this computer though. Also the Home, End, Page Up and Page Down keys work. Command + and - will also zoom just like in PS CS3. But no hand tool that I can see.

fotografz
7th April 2008, 23:18
Phocus runs OK (albeit a bit slow) on my Santa Rosa MacBook Pro 2.2 ghz with 4gb ram. Still downloading the sample files.

It's probably there but I don't see a hand tool for panning. Anyone found it?

The 4 arrow keys will move the zoomed in image...pretty slow on this computer though. Also the Home, End, Page Up and Page Down keys work. Command + and - will also zoom just like in PS CS3. But no hand tool that I can see.

Doug, once you use the zoom tool, (magnifying glass icon lower left), and the enlarged image resolves itself, you can press the space bar on your keyboard and hold it for the little hand icon that allows you to drag around the image.

BTW, this is true in most editing programs.

fotografz
7th April 2008, 23:57
Marc - I think I will make contact with your dealer in Michigan if you are happy to introduce me. Otherwise I don't know any 'Blad dealer who frequents this forum?

Robert that is great to know thanks for that.

Pete

Peter, not only am I willing, I am able ... due to our little "deal" he already volunteered to assist you where he can without me even asking him to. Very knowledgeable guy, rep for City Lights Digital, which is a subsidiary of City Lights Stage ... a full blown commercial studio in my area. They use all this stuff every day and know their stuff. He is also the one that sold me the Rollei Xact and also knows the ins-and-outs of that system because they use one.

Jim Arnosky
City Lights Stage
(248) 589-9000

[email protected]



Now with having a full Hasselblad Digital system, I'd like to see you join the Flexframe Forum which is restricted to Hasselblad digital photographers ... it is moderated/owned by a fellow Australian Nick Tresidder who really, really knows his stuff also.... and is potentially a great resource for you depending on his willingness and time ... which he's been generous with to his forum members

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Flexframe/

Nick has to approve your membership to keep out spammers, Dr. Mark Kay from this forum also joined up not to long ago. Here's the Flexframe join-up contact:

http://f1.grp.yahoofs.com/v1/8Bf7R6583gNgsKGcxPTH7rY8A1XHVscLsy2ADm7v3Hjl3c-JvLWPoHv2b0CqjO9Ia65e8eqsqekzOyfi_DYYiKHtC0Yp9Ezty ith/Member%20info%20request

If that doesn't work, contact Nick directly:

www.nick-t.com

fotografz
8th April 2008, 01:47
Marc - I think I will make contact with your dealer in Michigan if you are happy to introduce me. Otherwise I don't know any 'Blad dealer who frequents this forum?

Robert that is great to know thanks for that.

Pete

Oh, BTW Peter, I've suggested that Jim Arnosky join our group here to share his knowledge ... so hopefully Guy and Jack will extend their usual gracious welcome. Jim is also a pretty darn good photographer.

Jack
8th April 2008, 04:00
... so hopefully Guy and Jack will extend their usual gracious welcome. Jim is also a pretty darn good photographer.

Absolutely!!!

:)

PeterA
8th April 2008, 04:28
Marc - you are a champion! - thanks mate.

Looking forward to Jim joining our group and will check out the flexframe group in due course.

Now I have to get my head around some of this broncolor stuff.

Cheers
Pete

DougDolde
8th April 2008, 06:44
Phocus seems to be a lot like Capture One.

Nick-T
8th April 2008, 16:36
... it is moderated/owned by a fellow Australian Nick Tresidder

I should probably point out that I'm a Kiwi (New Zealander) not an aussie :)

PeterA
8th April 2008, 16:47
I should probably point out that I'm a Kiwi (New Zealander) not an aussie :)

Nick - in the spirit of trans Tasman goodwill - I forgive you...

... till the next time the All Blacks smack our bums! I am thinking of surprising my wife with a long weekend stay at Blanket Bay - i think just outside Queenstown. Will be our first trip to NZ.

Pete

fotografz
8th April 2008, 17:46
I should probably point out that I'm a Kiwi (New Zealander) not an aussie :)

Oh my Nick, my apologies. Good to see you here. I know you are a very busy man, but it would be terrific if you add some of your knowledge to this little group.