The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Pentax lenses

Paratom

I didnt want to blow up the K5 thread to much and therefore thought Iwould start another post about choosing lenses for the K5 and I am hoping for experience from long other Pentax useres (I am new to Pentax).

What I can add so far is that my Kit lens (18-55WR) seems to be not the sharpest lens specially at the long end end short distances.
I therefore check out the 16-50/2.8 now.

I am also planning to look into the primes and find it hard to decide.
I think it would be 15 and 21 (for the focal length), but then its hard to choose between 31,35macro,40 and 43, and between 70 and 77.
I got some recommendations for the 43 in the K5 thread.
On the other side I read that the 40 and 70 do focus a little faster (shorter focus thread) and I would like the smallish size, lower price, and they seem to be good wide open too. (a little slower of course than 43 and 77).

From reading around the 31 seems to be one of the best ones, but then I dont know if I find the focal length that usefull.

The 35....can it replace a 40 or 43? Its said to be sharp- but how clinical is it? Is it ok for portrait from short distanceor is it too sharp? How is the bokeh?
Or would you skip both 40 and 43 and get the 55 as a portraint lens?

Any feedbakc would be appreciated, also if there are any of those lenses where you feel it is a most have lens.

Eventually I will get both the 16-50 and some primes, one for light unobstrusive use and the zoom for its weathersealed built and flexibility.

In the telerange I find the 50-135 interesting.

Paratom

16-50