The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Congratulations

iansky

It is great to see a new forum that has a section dedicated to small sensor cameras and users, Thanks to Sean for prompting this and Mitch for supporting - I am sure this will grow very rapidly and constructively and provide many sensible points of discussion as well as valuable information for all.

I have been using the GRD for about 2 yrs and now find I use it more than my DSLR (purely due to weight/size & laziness), that said, the quality of images that many of the small sensored cameras can produce is incredible.

I like many others suspect the future of these cameras is very bright and, when and if the Sigma DP-1 does arrive it will potentially revolutionise the current market expectations - we already see many working photographers carrying compacts as backup cameras and the likes of Ricoh are aware of this.

The advent of the small compact with the "Larger sensor" is almost upon us and I would not be surprised to see the likes of Canon release a compact with a larger CMOS Canon made sensor in 2008 - Any thoughts?

I am waiting for my GRD2, and if it exceeds as I supect and Mitch has just about proved the quality of the GRD - I will be a happy bunny!

:thumbup:

Jack

Sr. Administrator
Staff member
Hello and welcome! I am kind of excited about this space too, since I really don't know too much about these smaller camera options. However, given many of the images I'm seeing in the other GR thread, I'm going to have to get up to speed!

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor