The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Newly released camera model: safe to buy or best to wait?

Jonathon Delacour

Subscriber Member
Received wisdom amongst savvy Macintosh users -- which I've always followed -- is never to buy the first iteration of any Apple hardware product. In other words, it's much smarter to wait until any kinks have been eliminated from the production line (and to allow other users to do the final testing on your behalf). During my years as a professional photographer I also followed the same practice, putting off buying a new camera model until three to six months after its initial release.

By placing an order with my Nikon dealer for a new D700, I'm ignoring a practice that has served me well over many years. So I'm interested in hearing from other forum members (not just Nikon users) about whether or they not they believe it's prudent to wait a few months after a camera's initial release before plonking down one's cash.

TRSmith

Subscriber Member
The lessons learned with Macs are well founded in experience. Nikon however, has been pretty solid for the past few iterations of their camera product line and I would have no qualms buying one right out of the gate. Congrats on your purchase!

D

dlew308

I'd say jump in on this one. The D3 has been out awhile as has the D300 without any major hiccups. Just as I went from the D100 to the D200 and recently the D300, I have no regrets in any of those decisions....well maybe the D300 with the D700 coming out, but I got to use my D300 in Tahiti, so that was way worth it.

Bob

Administrator
Staff member