The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Switching from Windows to Mac--Help

Cindy Flood

Super Moderator
I am still a Windows PC holdout. I am realizing that it will soon be time for another hardware upgrade, and I will finally bite the bullet and move to a Mac. We are going to be traveling again for several months this year and next. I think that a laptop only solution is the best for me. Right now, I have both a desktop and laptop, and hook the laptop to the desktop monitor when I need to use the laptop. That is not practical when going in and out of motels on the road.
I am a complete Apple newbie, so if someone would like to suggest a system that would work for editing on the road (with output to Epson printer when I get back home), please advise.
Also, what software will I need to run my Windows Office, Photoshop CS3, CaptureOne, NikonNX, etc.
Any help would be appreciated to avoid too many stumbles:banghead:.
Thanks.

D

ddk

Hi Cindy,

I'm not quite clear about all your questions but I'll try.

I am a complete Apple newbie, so if someone would like to suggest a system that would work for editing on the road (with output to Epson printer when I get back home), please advise.
Simple, just download the corresponding driver for your printer from the Epson site.

Also, what software will I need to run my Windows Office, Photoshop CS3, CaptureOne, NikonNX, etc.
Any help would be appreciated to avoid too many stumbles:banghead:.
Thanks.