The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

a900 as a wedding cam?

S

Shelby Lewis

Hey All... first post in this forum.

I'm a pro in Tennessee who's fussed with Canon for a long time... I also am well aware of the current strengths of the Nikon system but find myself in a peculiar situation. ie, needing resolution and file quality with occasional high ISO. I'm no longer going to be shooting weddings for myself this year... but instead only portraits. The a900 will be quite nice for what I do (I like to have highlight "tolerance").

However, I will be shooting weddings for another studio as a contract shooter. ISO 1600 won't be the norm at all, but I imagine it will be common. I often "foof" and bounce a gelled flash in tandem with natural light and have concerns about the higher ISO files from the a900. I don't mind noise, AT ALL... I sometimes add it to my photographs to break up the un-natural smoothness of canon files... but since I'll be shooting for a canon studio, it needs to be minimized. Any thoughts?

I'd love to see some well-exposed wedding files if anyone wants to share.

Thanks! Great work everyone!
my website
(the overly smooth "senior" skin is a current marketing move... check out my wedding, portrait, and baby posts for more of my "normal" work)

DavidL

I would have thought so. Having said that it's purely based on second hand knowledge.