The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

GRDll Blackened White

clay stewart

I somehow feel like I'm cheating, when I make images from JPEG, since I started shooting exclusively in RAW, a few years ago. I need to get over this, because there seems to be many times, that I can't make a better B&W conversion than the GRD11 or even the GX100 does with a little tweeking, afterward and I've really tried. I can't seem to articulate exactly when my RAWS are better, if it's the light or ISO or aperture setting, but every now and then, I see that I get a better tonal range or more of a high contrast look, using the RAW. Anyway, here's a few. The first and third are conversions from RAW and I think most of the others are JPEGS that were tweeked a bit.

Last edited:
V

VladimirV

Great pictures, I think the 2nd picture is great.

The GRD I is producing very good b&w jpgs so I don't even bother using RAW for b&w images as I always end up with a similar image to what the camera gives me. For the GRD II I'd use RAW and the convert just to get rid of the NR smoothing of jpgs. The tonality is very good in all your pictures, the RAW pictures just seems slightly sharper and less smooth than the jpgs.

clay stewart

Great pictures, I think the 2nd picture is great.

The GRD I is producing very good b&w jpgs so I don't even bother using RAW for b&w images as I always end up with a similar image to what the camera gives me. For the GRD II I'd use RAW and the convert just to get rid of the NR smoothing of jpgs. The tonality is very good in all your pictures, the RAW pictures just seems slightly sharper and less smooth than the jpgs.