The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

focus stacking

edwardkaraa

I've been asked to use focus stacking on a jewelry shoot to render all parts of the items in sharp focus. Obviously I've never done that before, and even feel a bit aprehensive since I really like to throw uninteresting parts of the items OOF. Anyway, a quick google search returned a few free softwares and Helicon. I'm interested to know if anyone here uses this technique and would recommend a particular software (preferably free :D) and of course, any advice would be very greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

gilgameshist

I've been asked to use focus stacking on a jewelry shoot to render all parts of the items in sharp focus. Obviously I've never done that before, and even feel a bit aprehensive since I really like to throw uninteresting parts of the items OOF. Anyway, a quick google search returned a few free softwares and Helicon. I'm interested to know if anyone here uses this technique and would recommend a particular software (preferably free :D) and of course, any advice would be very greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Edward,

Please, check this article about 'extended DOF' at Luminous Landscape site:

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/Helicon.shtml

The author seems to like the 64-bit version of Helicon Focus SW.

MG

edwardkaraa

Thanks MG, very interesting read indeed.