The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

A900 Reasons not to purchase

L

Light

I am currently using canon 1dmk3 cameras with all L lens and am considering Sony A900 cameras with Zeiss lens as replacement cameras.

However the lack of TWO recording cards with the ability to record RAW and JPEG at the same time to both cards seems to be an insurmountable hurdle in regard to moving the Sony A900.
Any thoughts would be appreciated.
(I am a professional wedding photographer)

Regards Light

douglasf13

I agree, and although Ive been hopeful of a firmware change to this, that hope is dwindling. If there is a change, Id say it would happen when the A850 is announced, but I'm doubting it.

fotografz

I am currently using canon 1dmk3 cameras with all L lens and am considering Sony A900 cameras with Zeiss lens as replacement cameras.

However the lack of TWO recording cards with the ability to record RAW and JPEG at the same time to both cards seems to be an insurmountable hurdle in regard to moving the Sony A900.
Any thoughts would be appreciated.
(I am a professional wedding photographer)

Regards Light
Well, I know exactly where you are coming from.

Let me make a suggestion ... based on my experiences.

I WILL NOT shoot a wedding with a single card camera because I refuse to carry around two cameras at once for back-up. Being able to capture to two 16 gig CFs at once is cheap insurance against card malfunction.