The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Hello forum and a ZA135/a900 question

L

Luminant

First, hello to all.

While researching the a900/a850 I came across this site. What a rich resource. Also I love the level of discourse I have seen on this forum - a lovely departure from some other photo forums.

I have about 30 years of photo experience from my first K1000 to my motor driven FM2 and Nikon setup (did some part time photojournalism/college sports photojournalism) and later a Contax G setup. Later I entered digital w/Canon D30 and recently a Pentax K10D. I also worked in engineering photo analysis in the Space Shuttle program for a few years.

I am not satisfied with the direction of Pentax and am choosing between building a full pro Sony or Canon system. Canon because of the vast modular system availability and Sony because of the Zeiss lenses along with the a850 or later the a1000. I would like to begin pro level work again and Sony and Canon are the finalists. I don't like MOST Nikon lenses with the obvious exceptions (ie 14-24, etc)

I need to ask a question about the a900/ZA 135 f/1.8 combo that has been bothering me as I look through the samples.

Whenever this lens combo is used with a strong backlight or in heavily lit framings, the contrast seems to plummet. It is as though there is a major amount of internal reflection going on - a pervasive "frostiness" to the entire image. With darker overall images the A900/135 setup seems to do better.

I don't really notice this on samples from other cameras with this lens. It is also not particularly photographer related