The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Gallery of Misfits

TRSmith

Subscriber Member
While waiting for my new MBP to fill up yesterday, I started playing around with Lightroom's web gallery feature. I started with the first images when I began shooting about a year ago, and made a quick collection of images that for one reason or another, I had sort of given up on.

After I had close to 50 of them, I went through them, and depending on the image, decided to take another whack at editing them in PSCS3 or tweaked them right in LR.

I discovered a couple of things. I realized that my comfort level with PS (and LR) has definitely improved within the last year. I'm much more able to judge what adjustments need to be made and more importantly, how I can make them with PS's arsenal. This represents progress for me and so I am encouraged.

The other was an observation about what seems to be a trend in terms of the things I like to capture. Based on these little images, I think I like to get close. So in terms of new lenses or equipment, it might be a good idea to go in that direction rather than say, opt for a 12mm.

Those mini-revelations were enough to make me think the process of collecting them was worthwhile.

The images are hardly "epic" in stature. Nor are they socially relevant in any meaningful way. But they represent a beginning and it's my pleasure and honor to share them with you. Please take a look and feel free to comment.

http://smithandpowers.com/photos/index.html

Thanks!
Tim

helenhill

`After a Looong Frantic day
I sat back and got lost in the vibe of your work