The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Will the AF in the 5D Mark III be identical with the AF in the Canon 1DX???

haring

Will the AF in the Canon 1Dx be identical with the AF in the Canon 5D Mark III I know it will be similar 61 point AF system but will it be identical?

If yes, why would most of us buy the Canon 1Dx for twice as much? I know the canon frame rate is much higher (faster) but I don't see too much difference between the two cameras which would justify me to spend twice as much for a camera...? I am a wedding photographer and I don't use the video capabilities and I don't really need the high frame rate, either.
What I need is fast and accurate focusing... It is hard to believe that the autofocus in the Canon 5D Mark III will be identical with the one Canon builds into the Canon 1Dx...

I am hesitant to pre-order it... Should I pre-order it??? I am willing to buy only it if it is exactly the same!

Any toughs?

Uaiomex

Not the same. It is crippled at the tracking focus abilities. I know, the 5D3 has many nice new things but manages to disappoint at all departments whatsoever. Still the typical 5D class camera, now priced as a 1D camera. I'm passing.
Eduardo

bensonga

That's disappointing news. Really disappointing. Where did you read this Eduardo?

Greatly improved autofocus capability is the one thing that would have convinced me to buy a 5D3. I will just have to save my dollars for a 1Dx someday.....22mp would have been nice however.

Gary

Uaiomex

At the DPR forums, but I'm sure this info is accurate. Even when it was still a rumor, CR mentioned this handicap.