The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Any 450 XSi/450 XS users around?

Rawfa

Any 450 XSi/450 XS users around?
I'm in the market for a DSLR with great dynamic range and a cool live view and one of these 2 seem fit the bill so far.

Rawfa

Hi Dave,

I recently spent the day with a Nikon D90 and I have found the dynamic range to be really excellent, but I'm not a professional photographer and I don't want to pay that kind of money for a photo camera.Another problem I've had with the D90 was it's live view function. Eg. when you close the shutter on a compact you can see the image getting darker and when you take the photo it is a replica of what you were seeing on the lcd. On the D90 you could close the shutter, increase the iso, whatever and the image on the LCD with live view stayed the same. I'd like to have a DSLR with more or less the same dynamic range as the D90 and with a live view that works as "what you see is what you get". I've read many reviews saying contradictory things about the 450 XSI (some say the live view is awesome, some say it sucks, the same for dynamic range) so I'd really like to hear it from a user.

Rawfa

I've tested the Canon 1000D/ 450 XS and even though the live view is exactly what I'm looking for, the quality falls WAY FAR behind what I've got from the D90. I was wondering how would the Canon eos 40d do against the D90.

trisberg

Rafa,

I'm also considering an XSi - in what way did it fall way behind the Nikon D90? Build quality or image quality?

-Thomas

Rawfa