Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 5DMkIII problem

  1. #1
    New Member reflectedlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    5DMkIII problem

    I have never seen this before except when one is shooting above synch speed. THis was not the case since I was shooting during the day (no strobe involved). 3 images had the same problem of the bottom being cut off. Lightroom listed the image as 'this image appears to be damaged'. Anyone every seen this? hopefully it attached.
    QU9C7796 by Crackdlens Lens, on Flickr

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Arlington VA
    Posts
    746
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    11

    Re: 5DMkIII problem

    Try opening the image again in ACR. If it doesn't display properly, try a different card or reformat (low level) the one you have. After that, it has to be the camera. By the way, was it three consecutive images or was it non-sequential?
    On-line portfolio
    www.abouddweck.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    889
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 5DMkIII problem

    Possible memory card issue as suggested!
    Are you shooting raw?
    ___________________
    Po-Ming Chu
    POPHOTO

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Manchester/Jerusalem
    Posts
    2,652
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    290

    Re: 5DMkIII problem

    That line is too exact for it to be mechanical. Try different card, different reader and different computer.
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

    Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com

  5. #5
    Member JonMo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Delta BC Canada
    Posts
    100
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: 5DMkIII problem

    I had this exact issue and it turned out to be my USB Cable connected to my reader. Changed the cable and never had an issue since.

  6. #6
    New Member reflectedlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 5DMkIII problem

    Seems to be a brand new Eye-fi card (or so I believe). Had it occur on several other images some of which had a square grey block in the middle. Since it was a new card, i assumed (we all know what that does...) it was the camera. Since replacing the card...no issues. Thanks for all the responses..you all nailed.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    889
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: 5DMkIII problem

    Quote Originally Posted by reflectedlights View Post
    Seems to be a brand new Eye-fi card (or so I believe). Had it occur on several other images some of which had a square grey block in the middle. Since it was a new card, i assumed (we all know what that does...) it was the camera. Since replacing the card...no issues. Thanks for all the responses..you all nailed.
    ...nice lens btw!
    ___________________
    Po-Ming Chu
    POPHOTO

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •