Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to change 5D focus screen?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    296
    Post Thanks / Like

    How to change 5D focus screen?

    Can anybody give me some advice or point to on-line instructions on how to change the focus screen on my 5D without wrecking everything?

    Just bought an EE-S screen kit that includes tweezers but cannot find the instructions.

    Do I really need a hammer and a welding kit?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    California/Thailand
    Posts
    1,206
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: How to change 5D focus screen?

    It's not difficult. Do you have the manual? I think there's a picture in there.

    There's a little square tab at the front of the focus screen frame. A little pressure allows it to pop free and the frame holding the screen drops down. Replace the screen and reverse the process of pressing the frame up into place and allow the square tab to snap into place as before.

    Handle the screen with care. They smudge easily. Square-tipped tweezers help.

    Go slow and easy. Nothing needs to be forced. It's not difficult.

    Good luck.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    296
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: How to change 5D focus screen?

    Bloody miracle - nothing broke & I didn't even need to use the hammer!



    The first time I inserted the new screen it fell out again after a few exposures because I hadn't clicked the frame back in place carefully enough. But nothing broke that time either.



    Thanks for the helpful hints.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    California/Thailand
    Posts
    1,206
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: How to change 5D focus screen?

    Glad it worked out. Now you're an expert!


  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    296
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: How to change 5D focus screen?

    No expert - but this guy seems to be: here is a link to a detailed online tutorial for anybody else who wants to know how to change a Canon 5D focusing screen. Just bumped into it by accident one day after I managed with advice and encouragement from Dale to do it myself. Interestingly enough this guy does not even use a chainsaw - so his approach is probably better than mine. I accidentally came across it when I was looking for information about how to clean a focusing screen, which also seems to be a bit tricky but likewise not impossible.

  6. #6
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: How to change 5D focus screen?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dale Allyn View Post
    Glad it worked out. Now you're an expert!

    Not only that, he can now perform the surgery on any 1-series Canon and the Mamiya AFD series as well!

    Jack
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •