The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

What is the Truth about X100 AF Performance?

barjohn

I now have hands on experience and I will tell you I think it meets Fuji's specs. You will more likely be held back by your reflex time. :)

barjohn

Hi Terry,

Yes, I got one from Japan. I have only had it since yesterday but so far I am really impressed. As much as the Leica philes will hate it, it really is the camera Leica should have made. I am still learning and adjusting a bit but the overall quality is outstanding. I even like the way the lens cap has this soft felt lining and pushes on smoothly. It reminds me of my dad's cameras from 40-50 years ago.

I don't yet have enough experience shooting moving targets to see how the AF does with them but on still subjects it seems to focus as fast as I can push the button.

I think you are familiar with Fuji's terminology and the manual fails to provide much information on highlight tone, & shadow tone. How do these relate to contrast?

If anyone has any questions they want answered, please ask and I will do my best to answer them.

barjohn

The manual doesn't tell you how to see what version of the firmware you have or how to install a firmware upgrade. I have found the secret. Hold the Disp/Back button in while you turn the camera on. You can then see the version number.

monza

The AF is plenty fast, even when it's in OVF Power Save mode. We did some AF comparisons between NEX, X1, GF2 and X100. Will post the findings on http://x100forum.com.

This camera was very well thought out. ND filter is killer... :)

cjlacz