Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: New to Fuji x100

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6

    New to Fuji x100

    beginner questions;
    could not load Raw files to light room so downloaded the Fuji finePix viewer software but now all files (from my other cameras) load to finePix and not light room. Do i need to have finePix on my computer?
    shooting raw had many photos underexposed? should i shoot jpeg since i am new to digital photography and drive my self nuts with Light room? thanks for the advice in advance. Jay

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: New to Fuji x100

    Jay
    Something in your preference on FinePix might have everything migrating there.
    The files should load up into lightroom. There is a profile in LR to handle the X100 RAWs. I've seen in a number of places where people are saying the RAW is coming into LR underexposed. I haven't seen that yet. I'm not sure if picking the profile in LR corrects this or if perhaps there is some setting on the camera that is causing the problem.
    As for LR not accepting your RAWs look at the LR preferences to see if you have it set up to get the RAWs and jpegs? Or if you have upgraded your LR to the most current version that has X100 support (version 3.4)

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    944
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    16

    Re: New to Fuji x100

    LR 3.4 should handle them just fine.

    I have noticed a rather interesting "anomaly" in the RAW X100 file. Yesterday I shot RAW and JPG together for the first time. I had been shooting JPG's only for the first few weeks I had the camera. It was pretty bright out and I didn't want my highlights to completely blow out, so I set the EC to (-)0.3 and (-)0.7.

    The out of camera JPG looked great.....the RAW file however was very underexposed.....almost one-two stops.

    Since I'll be shooting more RAW in the future, I will be more prudent using the exposure compensation.

    R

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6

    Re: New to Fuji x100

    Quote Originally Posted by TEBnewyork View Post
    Jay
    Something in your preference on FinePix might have everything migrating there.
    The files should load up into lightroom. There is a profile in LR to handle the X100 RAWs. I've seen in a number of places where people are saying the RAW is coming into LR underexposed. I haven't seen that yet. I'm not sure if picking the profile in LR corrects this or if perhaps there is some setting on the camera that is causing the problem.
    As for LR not accepting your RAWs look at the LR preferences to see if you have it set up to get the RAWs and jpegs? Or if you have upgraded your LR to the most current version that has X100 support (version 3.4)
    Thanks uploaded the 3.4 and that is accepting the raw fuji files thanks. do you know how to adjust the preferences for fine pix? do i even need that now that LR is updated?

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    3,538
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: New to Fuji x100

    In addition to the X100 camera profile, does LR3.4 also have a lens profile for the f/2 Fujinon?
    Carl
    Gallery

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: New to Fuji x100

    Quote Originally Posted by scho View Post
    In addition to the X100 camera profile, does LR3.4 also have a lens profile for the f/2 Fujinon?
    yes

  7. #7
    Senior Member barjohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Galveston, TX
    Posts
    947
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    171

    Re: New to Fuji x100

    You don't need the FinePix application and in my opinion it isn't worth giving up disk space for so I would remove it.

    Until you apply the Profile correction, RAW will appear to be underexposed compared to the JPG but it isn't 1 or 2 stops.
    V/r John

  8. #8
    Senior Member dhsimmonds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    904
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    20

    Re: New to Fuji x100

    Quote Originally Posted by jayt View Post
    beginner questions;
    could not load Raw files to light room Jay
    Jay, Lightroom like all other RAW conversion programs should be regularly updated to ensure that the latest camera profiles are incorporated, otherwise the camera RAW files will not be recognised. Try loading the latest updates and then see if LR3.4 recognises Fuji RAF (RAW) files.
    Cheers, Dave
    www.simmondsphotography.com

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    15
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6

    Re: New to Fuji x100 thank you for all the advice

    Thank you all for the help. this camera stuff is a lot more work than i remember fron high school. ha

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •