Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Autofocus Help Needed

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    104
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Autofocus Help Needed

    This just in from the Silly Question Dept.....

    I am trying to use my X100 with rear AF only. This is my standard working m.o. with dslrs. I would like the AFL-AEL button to be an AF activate switch, ie. I see a subject, place the AF rectangle on my focus point, hit the button, and focus is locked at that distance until I hit the button again. I am using the optical VF exclusively, btw.

    I went through the manual and have the following settings:

    AE/AF-LOCK MODE = ON/OFF SWITCH
    AE/AF-LOCK BUTTON = AF LOCK ONLY

    Here's my question: When is focus actually locked? My understanding is, when I first press the button, the AF rectangle turns green, focus is locked. I then shoot the picture.

    Evidently this is incorrect. I went out yesterday and shot approx 75 images this way. Sunny day, ISO 200, f8, aperture preferred. Many of the shots are out of focus. So I ran a test. Apparently if I press the AFL-AEL button, so that the AF rectangle turns green, and then take a picture focus is way off. If I do the same so that the rectangle turns green and then press it again so that the rectangle turns white - focus is spot on.

    Am I the last person in the world to this party? I've read the manual and cannot find any reference to visual cues when focus is locked. Am I correct that my procedure requires a double press of the AEL-AFL button?

    ---Kent

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Autofocus Help Needed

    Did you activate manual focus, before using the AEL-button to focus?
    Might be a dumb question and if so, I'm sorry for that.

    Anyway, when you set the camera to MF, a simple click on AEL sets the focus on the subject in the rectangle.
    My Flickr

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    104
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    19

    Re: Autofocus Help Needed

    No, I am using AF-S. I prefer the cleaner finder window. Tho I will try MF and the rear button as well. Thanks OllieL.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Autofocus Help Needed

    Just tried it on mine.
    When in AF-S I need to pre-focus via the shutter button, then keep the AEL-AFL pushed to lock focus and metering. I can then let go the shutter button and recompose.

    In MF AEL-AFL only sets the focus (and locks it, even when you depress it).
    My Flickr

  5. #5
    Senior Member The Smoking Camera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Hawaii
    Posts
    530
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Autofocus Help Needed

    I use the same method as Ollil.
    Camera set at MF with AEL-AFL button to focus.
    Works pretty well.
    ........................................
    Joe Marquez
    www.thesmokingcamera.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    581
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Autofocus Help Needed

    It works well for me too. It's a great way to prefocus using the hyperfocal scale in the viewfinder.
    Cheers,
    Jeff
    www.jeff-grant.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •