Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

  1. #1
    Contributing Editor ustein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,658
    Post Thanks / Like

    X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    We normally use LR4.1 for all our images. But in the case of the X-Pro1 we find that Silkypix (some version comes with the camera) gets better results.

    - more detail
    - no false colors from aliasing
    - no smudging in foliage

    What is your take?
    Uwe Steinmueller
    -------------------

    Editor&Owner of Digital Outback Photo
    http://www.outbackphoto.com

  2. #2
    Senior Member PenSon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    259
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    If you have a Mac you should try the RPP software that works very nice with raw files from Fuji.

    Trygve

  3. #3
    Contributing Editor ustein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,658
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    I know Silkypix from the past and they use Fuji algorithms. Normally I don't care but here Fuji has the edge as they invented this new layout.

    I briefly checked RPP but this is just too bare bone for my taste.
    Last edited by ustein; 9th August 2012 at 16:23.
    Uwe Steinmueller
    -------------------

    Editor&Owner of Digital Outback Photo
    http://www.outbackphoto.com

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    777
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    I don't know why but I jut can't seem to get on with SP ...

    As for RPP, I think it is the best for detail, such as foliage. It is only really intended for initial processing - I use it with WB 'As Shot', a film simulation such as 'K64', alter the exposure using Compressed Exposure if necessary, interpolation on VNG, maybe some saturation, contrast boost, then save as TIFF for further processing in LR.

    If you have donated you get various 'helper' functions like being able to go forwards/backwards to the next image in the folder and to be able to open the TIFF directly in LR.

    I do wonder if I ought to try SP again though ...

    Lee
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  5. #5
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    ashwinrao1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Seattle, WA - USA
    Posts
    3,276
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    Gosh, I do hope LR shapes up. I have taken to shooting JPEG at times, but wish RAW were better
    Ashwin Rao
    Seattle, WA
    My Photography

  6. #6
    Workshop Member ptomsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Austria, close to Vienna
    Posts
    3,868
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    General question WRT Film Modes on X Pro 1:

    Can the film modes be also used in RAW? Or better asked doe they come down to the RAW file as a special WB setting from start?

    Thanks for letting me know

    Peter

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,929
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    Quote Originally Posted by ustein View Post
    We normally use LR4.1 for all our images. But in the case of the X-Pro1 we find that Silkypix (some version comes with the camera) gets better results.

    - more detail
    - no false colors from aliasing
    - no smudging in foliage

    What is your take?
    There was a prior discussion about this specific topic:
    http://forum.getdpi.com/forum/fuji/3...-xpro-1-a.html

  8. #8
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,929
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    Quote Originally Posted by ptomsu View Post
    General question WRT Film Modes on X Pro 1:

    Can the film modes be also used in RAW? Or better asked doe they come down to the RAW file as a special WB setting from start?

    Thanks for letting me know

    Peter
    My impression based on the other Fuji cameras I've had is the the film modes are image processing output into JPEGs only.

  9. #9
    Contributing Editor ustein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,658
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    I wait for LR4 to improve and till then I preprocess in Silkypix and then do the rest in LR. Works very well for me.
    Uwe Steinmueller
    -------------------

    Editor&Owner of Digital Outback Photo
    http://www.outbackphoto.com

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    777
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    The RAWs can subsequently be 'developed' into JPEGs based on the film simulations, different sharpness or NR settings etc but only by the in-camera RAW converter. This is actually a really good utility but has no PC or Mac equivalent. SP has 'tastes' etc but they are its own (or user defined) and not related to the Fuji film simulations.

    Lee

  11. #11
    Contributing Editor ustein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,658
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    >The RAWs can subsequently be 'developed' into JPEGs based on the film simulations

    Yes, but I don't want to use my camera as an editing tool.
    Uwe Steinmueller
    -------------------

    Editor&Owner of Digital Outback Photo
    http://www.outbackphoto.com

  12. #12
    Workshop Member ptomsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Austria, close to Vienna
    Posts
    3,868
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    Quote Originally Posted by ustein View Post
    >The RAWs can subsequently be 'developed' into JPEGs based on the film simulations

    Yes, but I don't want to use my camera as an editing tool.
    +1

    Would prefer to apply film settings in LR - either during import or individually after import.

    Peter

  13. #13
    Contributing Editor ustein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,658
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    In the end I don't care much about the film settings because you can make your own in Lightroom.

    Uwe Steinmueller
    -------------------

    Editor&Owner of Digital Outback Photo
    http://www.outbackphoto.com
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  14. #14
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    This is one of the frustrating aspects of the Fuji. I love mine to bits but I hate having to use multiple raw converters with my various camera systems. LR/ACR does a great job with D800 files and non-tech cam Phase One files. For Fuji - ok, but I often end up using the jpg as my starting point because they render so nicely. I've tried SilkyPix and it's ok but isn't a viable alternative to LR but does render files nicely (just like Nikon Capture NX2 does with Nikon NEFs vs LR) but it isn't a productive tool for me. As regards RPP, I've read the threads here and downloaded the latest builds etc but it's a science experiment in my experience. Some people seem to get decent results from it but I find it sucks badly when I try (and I fully concede that this is almost certainly my lack of experience with it - but how difficult should it be?).

    Fuji / Adobe should bang heads together and get the Fuji/SilkyPix demosaic algorithms implemented together. I'm sure that Adobe will get the job done eventually but right now it is a frustrating moment in time.

    Love the camera system though :-)
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  15. #15
    Contributing Editor ustein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,658
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    >I've tried SilkyPix and it's ok but isn't a viable alternative to LR but does render files nicely (just like Nikon Capture NX2 does with Nikon NEFs vs LR) but it isn't a productive tool for me.

    No, it is not a replacement. I use it as a pre-processor. Here are my steps:

    1. Browse through the pics in Silkypix
    2. I have a default that requires only very few changes in Silkypix
    3. Change WB, Exposure and Highlight recovery per image
    4. Export in the background into a temp folder
    5. Sync folder with LR (if wanted I could even automate that and maybe I should)

    Actually I export as JPEG from Silkypix. Before you complain think of this:

    1. The heavy lifting is done in SP
    2. The JPEGs I generate are way less compressed than from camera (means if if you complain you should not even think using the camera JPEGs)
    3. You could use 16-bit tiffs if you like

    All the rest is done in LR. If I like the images I create a master DNG that includes the generated SP JPEG and all LR settings.

    If you really look then the workflow is not that much slower than all in LR. But I like the results better than the raw from LR right now.

    Is it ideal? No. Is it a problem? No.

    Main issues are actually that SP does not transfer the IPTC metadata and keywords.

    I think I found my peace with X-Pro raws for now.

    Ok, you need to learn a bit SP. Takes you max 3 hours or you ask me :-)
    Uwe Steinmueller
    -------------------

    Editor&Owner of Digital Outback Photo
    http://www.outbackphoto.com
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    777
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    Uwe

    Which version of SP? The free one that comes with the camera? Do you use any particular 'taste' setting as a starting point?

    I don't suppose you have any direct contacts with Adobe to find out whether they are working on an improvement or not?

    Lee
    Last edited by Sapphie; 12th August 2012 at 00:42.

  17. #17
    Contributing Editor ustein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,658
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    I use the new version 5 for Mac but tried the free version too. Worked fine but cannot create 16bit TIFFs.
    Uwe Steinmueller
    -------------------

    Editor&Owner of Digital Outback Photo
    http://www.outbackphoto.com

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    Attachment 62071
    The free version can save to 16 bit tif's by configuring the "setting for developed image" to do so.
    I downloaded the new version 5 for mac, but changing settings in the program gives a strange jumping behavior to the screen image on my iMac.
    Maybe you have a solution for this.
    However, since the processing results are not different as far as I can see, and I only use it for the first processing, I think 5pro is overkill.
    By the way, as always your images here and on your site are a pleasure to look at and truly show what many cameras are capable of in the right hands.
    regards
    maurice

  19. #19
    Contributing Editor ustein's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,658
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X-Pro1 Raw Processing

    >The free version can save to 16 bit tif's by configuring the "setting for developed image" to do so.

    True, I looked in the wrong place (which means it was not really intuitive :-)). So we are fine with the free version I guess.

    >but changing settings in the program gives a strange jumping behavior to the screen image on my iMac.

    Maybe I ignored it.
    Uwe Steinmueller
    -------------------

    Editor&Owner of Digital Outback Photo
    http://www.outbackphoto.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •