The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Fuji X-E1 Review

"....I'm a pro so this is not for me" comments are at the very least unhelpful.
Bugleone, I'm only going to say this one more time. I never said anything like that and you're categorically misrepresenting me.

Fact of the matter is, the X-E1 is not the camera for me and the reason for this is the lack of OVF. I've been very clear on this. This has nothing to do with pro or not or anything else. I've used plenty of non-"pro" cameras and have loved using them. My Minnox 35GT is a great example!

At the end of the day, I've never used an EVF that I've liked better than an OVF and the X-E1 just doesn't do it for me. Period. And I stand by everything I've said in my review.

Between the X-Pro1 and the X-E1, you absolutely get what you pay for, and I think the extra few hundred on the X-Pro1 is entirely worth it. Whereas the X-E1 is just one of many comparable EVIL cameras...there's nothing overly special about it.

Ulfric Douglas

I must say that OVF was very comfortable and ironically the extra height it forces upon the camera body adds to the heft and quality feel of the whole.
For these two reasons the X-Pro1 'felt' better than the X-E1 when I handled them recently for a few test pictures.
Having said that : thanks for the review, I've read it ... and here's some fan for the flames : I also feel Bugleone has half a point in his post #15.
You could tweak some wording in your review to be less dismissive of folk who might prefer the X-E1, after all the only real difference seems to be the viewfinder.

V

Vivek